You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Is It Time To Take Military Action Against North Korea?

in #politics7 years ago

The biggest issue here @thecryptofiend is how other nations will react. South Korea doesn't want war because they are in the crosshairs for one of the largest artillery barrages to ever be unleashed if war starts. Some estimates state over 2 million South Koreans would be killed in the first few minutes of a full war. It seems a better alternative to a firing war would be the slow strangle of withholding resources from North Korea. To do that, we need all the countries of the world to participate--this includes Russia and China. China is the true wild card here. Do they want North Korea as is or would they prefer a less belligerent ally? Whatever eventually does happen, I fear we are slowly marching towards an all out war that could quickly turn into one of the greatest catastrophes in world history if the situation isn't handled correctly.

Sort:  

I think those estimates are likely exaggerated but who knows for sure. The thing is that a surprise attack might be able to prevent that from occurring. I think the potential for loss of life would be even greater once NK get usable nukes.

I think China is losing patience with them.

I agree we do slowly seem to be going towards war anyway.

It's hard to know which estimates can be trusted. I agree that a nuke would be much worse for everyone.

It seems the best case scenario might be for Kim Jong-un to quietly disappear.

Yes that would be best for all - assuming he wasn't replaced by someone worse!

The principal! He will give me TP! I would hate for my bungholio to get polio....Where I come from, we have no bunghole.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 62686.30
ETH 2673.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56