Why is DeSantis running? Why are the other people running in the GOP?

in #politics11 months ago

I don't understand that motivation of politicians. It happens every 4 years on both sides of the USA political aisle when dozens of candidates put their name on the list and they compete for the top spot. As I am sure you are aware the list gets whittled down over time until there is only one name remaining.

Sometimes I have to presume that people throw their name in the hat for other reasons than winning because they have to be aware of the fact that most of the don't stand a chance in winning the nomination.

While I wouldn't say that it is impossible for DeSantis to get the Republican nomination, it is exceptionally unlikely. Trump basically has this thing locked down and I don't really get why DeSantis, or the people that are inevitably going to throw millions of dollars towards his campaign, would be motivated to do so since it is really unlikely that he is going to surpass Trump.


image.png
src

Say what you want about Trump, I know a lot of people hate him, but he basically has the 2024 nomination locked in and was that way almost immediately after leaving office a few years ago. I can't imagine any scenario where some other candidate would take that spot away from him. Sure, a couple of states may decide to nominate DeSantis but for the most part the polls are indicating that Ron doesn't stand a chance.

I find it a bit sad that this was likely determined some time ago. I had made a few remarks in the past that I didn't understand why Ron and Don, who appeared to be pals to some degree, or at least political allies, started taking pot shots at one another in the news and on social media. Perhaps it was already known back then than Ron was going to have a run at the White House and DJT decided to pre-empt this by attacking him first.

I suppose that's just par for the course as far as politics are concerned but I still don't understand how DeSantis emerges victorious with this. Is he doing this knowing that he can't possibly win but wants to keep his name relevant for his "real" running for President in 2028? I'm sure that there have been others that have done this before and things get real dirty when they talk trash about one another and expose weaknesses in the other's reputation. I've always found that quite amusing that someone will say the most awful things about a political opponent and then basically join their campaign a few months later and support them.

In many ways I think that Ron would be a better candidate than Trump because fewer people have reasons to hate him. The media of course will do all that they can to drag his name though the mud because he is conservative but now we are seeing conservative media do the same as well.

To me, this portion of the election could actually be more entertaining than the general election in 2024 because people may actually listen to what both of them have to say. I always feel as though the general election is a waste of time as far as the advertising is concerned because I believe that most people vote with their party's candidate regardless of whether or not the person in question is actually worth electing. News stations might be able to find someone here or there that "switches parties" to vote for the other side but this is extremely rare. For the most part people are going to vote for "their side" no matter who the candidate is: This is how we ended up with Joe Biden in the White House after all.

I think that 2024 is stacking up to be the biggest shit show of all time in American politics, especially when I start hearing stories about Hillary considering running again. Oh that would be hilarious if Trump were to defeat her again.

In the meantime I don't really understand why Ron would bother with this at all but then again, I tend to vote Libertarian and I do this knowing they have 0% chance of winning.

Sort:  

I wouldn't be so sure. Just his stunt on CNN proves that he's softening, and his diatribes feel like déjà-vu

I had a feeling 2024's election cycle was going to get crazy, but Trump Vs DeSantis is going to lead to an epic primary election.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62981.24
ETH 3034.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75