You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What is leftism? What is rightism? Why are there so many different interpretations?

in #politics7 years ago (edited)

Further, I reject all polarities. We are entities made up of various traits in positive quantities. All the graphs should start at zero and extend in the positive directions. The desire for control (for instance), is either a zero, low, or high quantity. Never a negative amount. You can't have less than zero control over another.

Sort:  

You can't have less than zero control over another.

Unless you go full mountain man, there is always going to be some form of control over you; even if the strength of that control is weak (family bonds, peer pressure)

I don't have the resources to define the amount of control others have over me, but I was speaking of the amount of control I wish to have over others. Once I get to the point of completely not wanting any control over others, I can't go to wanting to have negative amountws of control over them. There are no polarities.

hmm, I missed that.

I don't think there is anything that is wanting to have negative amountws of control over others.

I'm missing your point, I think

Yeah, it's just the terminology that I disagree with, because it causes disagreement with others. A leftist will point to a person who self-identifies as right wing, and show you their desire to control sexuality.

The actual meaning of Left and Right, is simply what side of the chamber you sit on. In some other countries, the political drives are reversed but they still identify by seating arrangements. In those countries the right wing wants nationalistic control of industry, health and education. It makes the terms confused and thereby invalid for accurate conversation on issues, IMO.

The desire to control others is the desire to control others, not left or right.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 62625.86
ETH 3333.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47