You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Cry, the Vervrotting Country

in #politics7 years ago

I didn't realise that a 'v' sounds like an 'f'. I'd probably have a pretty bad pronunciation since I'm terrible at learning and articulating a language.
Sad to see how people become tyrannous and only push for certain things and policies just so they can have support of the masses and push aside the minority just so they benefit and not the whole nation.
It is distressing how the liberties, freedoms and autonomy South Africa fought to have is being thrown away as it becomes a bureaucracy and more technocratic.
I hope this corruption is rooted out but it seems like it will take a lot of time before that happens @kiligirl

Sort:  

Afrikaans has some pretty difficult sounds for English speakers! After 20 years I still struggle with "r" since the Afrikaans r is said somewhere up on the hard palate, whereas in French (which I speak) it's deep in the throat. Let's just say they laugh at me when I try to put a sentence together. But yeah, it is said to watch the tyrants win. Maybe it's why Game of Thrones and House of Cards are so popular - the good guys don't always win. I don't think it's that South Africa is becoming a bureaucracy or more technocratic; it was pretty technocratic during the dark days of apartheid. It's more that it's becoming a kleptocracy, and the methods the bad guys have used have been impressive. Bad, but the planning and execution is truly awe-inspiring, not to mention the scale of their vision - "let's steal an entire country and make the citizens pay for it". Amazing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65858.36
ETH 3493.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53