Meeting The Prime Minister In The First Class Washroom

in #politics8 years ago (edited)

Me on the left with The Right Honorable Kim Campbell

Mid flight, I was standing in the washroom, in first class. All of a sudden, the door opened, then shut abruptly, with a lady uttering something as she walked away.I forgot to lock the door.In 2015 I wrote “trip to New York” on a post-it note and stuck it to my computer.It’s 2016, and I am on my way there! I joined an Idea Listing group based on Claudia A. Altucher and James Altucher’s book ‘Become An Idea Machine’.I liked an idea from the group to pack an empty water bottle to fill up on the plane.Since the washroom in economy class was blocked by the beverage cart, I asked the flight attendant if I could use the washroom in first class.When that lady walked in on me, I was only filling up my water bottle, so it was no big deal.

As I walked out of the washroom, she whispered to me about locking the door next time, and I recognized her.“You’re Kim Campbell,” I said.“Yes I am,” she said.The flight attendant smiled. “Now you have a story to tell,” she said.Kim smiled, saying: “at least you weren’t doing anything undignified,” and we all giggled. She was warm, funny and personable. A true Canadian! Kim Campbell was the Prime Minister of Canada in 1993, and the first female Prime Minister.I haven’t even touched down in Newark, New Jersey yet, and I already love this trip to New York!

What You See In Front Of You Is What You Make Happen

When I have a dream, I write it down and place it where I will see it every day. Like that post-it note on my computer.First, I conceive an idea. Then I visualize myself achieving it. The more I focus on the idea, the more it feels like it will soon become a reality.Some people have big dreams, and when they achieve them, word gets around, and they become famous. When we meet famous people, instead of doubting ourselves, they empower us to ask — if they can do it, why can’t we do it? It’s like growing a branch on your tree that stretches you closer to the sun.

Only a curtain separates economy class from first class.

When you meet the former leader of your country, and the first female leader to boot, you become empowered. She is also a person who has dreams, has a sense of humor, and needs to use the washroom. It raises the tide for me, and gives her some recognition as well.In an interview, Kim was asked what it was like to be the first woman Prime Minister when there was a lack of women in politics. She said:

“A lot of what we think is right in the world depends on what we see…if they don’t see a woman there, (PM’s office), we think that women don’t belong there.”

Realizing your dreams begins with an idea, Like Claudia and James said. The more ideas you have, the stronger your idea muscle becomes, and you become an idea machine. It starts small with ideas like a trip to New York, or packing an empty water bottle so you can take it through security, and avoid paying airport prices for water, re-use your bottle, and keep refilling it so you don’t get dehydrated on the flight. Who knows where the practice will take you. Or who you will meet?Achieving your dreams spurs you to achieve bigger dreams, and make ideas come true. James Altucher says that ideas are “the currency of the 21st Century.”I am attaching a video where Ms. Campbell praises current Prime Minister Justin Trudeau for choosing a cabinet that contains 50 percent females. She says he accelerated the process by “putting women in the window,” and declaring himself a feminist.

Prime Minister Justin Trudeau Puts Women In The Window

Kim Campbell lauds Trudeau for feminist policies

 


TIMELINE:

-1962 — the year I was born, women were not permitted to hold a mortgage in their own right in Vancouver.

-1993 — the year my son Connor was born, Kim Campbell becomes Prime Minister.

-2015 — Justin Trudeau secures 50 percent representation of women in Ottawa.

Aaahh, progress.By dreaming big, we put ourselves in the window. At first, the window is in our minds, and our dreams can only be seen by us. When our dreams are realized, they are visible in the window for others to see. Sometimes they grow so big, they are seen by the whole world.

Curtains are meant to be opened, otherwise there would be a wall there.

To paraphrase Seth Godin in ‘Whatcha Gonna do With That Duck?’ the book I was reading on the 5 and a half hour flight to New York -‘the people in economy don’t mind that there is a first class section on the plane. First class subsidizes the flight, and gives the people in the economy section a place to aspire to.’

Doors can be locked, but curtains are designed to be opened.

We are all curtain openers, Kim Campbell, Justin Trudeau, Ann Hoy and you!

Sort:  

"Only a curtain separates economy class from first class." Good one!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67651.30
ETH 3269.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64