the "npc" joke and steem

in #politics6 years ago (edited)

Fascists have a new tactic, calling people that disagree with them "NPCs". They do this to attempt to dehumanize them. We already have literal concentration camps in the US. So what do they do? Call people who fight against them "NPCs" in their memes and such. I recently had a discord server connected to steem attacked by a bot run by somebody who's name included that joke and was spanning those memes, along with slurs and pictures of hitler (like usual).

Steem is not free from fascism. You need to suppress it before it suppresses you.

and there is my response to the liberals

Sort:  

The death of freedom is the suppression of speech.

I will always advocate for absolute free speech, either under anarchy or authoritarianism. It is my creed, and it always will be. No matter the ruler or the will of the people, I alone will speak my mind, and encourage others to do the same.

And more than just that, I will read their words and comprehend their ideas and intentions, even if I do not agree. I have the courage to understand.

Alone on the hill, the goat is hated by the sheep, but feared by the wolf.

so, if somebody advocated and made great efforts to take away somebody else's free speech would you be for or against that? What about if they only talked about it? What if they organised around it? When does it cut off? If it's "absolute free speech" then they have the "right" to talk about taking it from others, right?

Indeed.

And I have the same right to defend myself from them, and continue my advocation of freedom. It is only the tyrant who wishes to remove speech from our mouths.

You speak on the side of tyranny here, it seems.

I defend myself from you, and as long as I can still speak this sword of words, then I can still win against your tyranny. I am saddened that you are the one who is making such great efforts to silence people though.

But it seems like you actually are on the side of tyranny, according to your own words, so here is my final attack: Reconsider your position.

Always advocate for freedom. Only freedom can defeat oppression. Oppression can never lead to freedom, unless that whisper of freedom is heard despite the clinking of our chains. This whisper can only be whispered if we have just enough freedom to move our lips and whisper that forbidden word: Revolution.

But then I ask: Why stop at mere whispers? I demand freedom for all people, both myself, and my enemy. Such that in the end, I shall win with my wits, rather than find myself killing or being killed, and thus staining myself with blood, rather than ink.

It's easier to wash ink out of my clothing, for one...

the basis of fascism is taking free speech from others. We need to suppress those taking the speech from others lmao. I think you completely misunderstood my entire point

"But then I ask: Why stop at mere whispers? I demand freedom for all people, both myself, and my enemy. Such that in the end, I shall win with my wits, rather than find myself killing or being killed, and thus staining myself with blood, rather than ink."

you seem to have forgotten one very important thing. Fascists would rather just flat-out kill you than listen to you ramble on, doctor who isn't realistic lmao

self-defence is the only option. If you don't think so you are most likely in a massively privileged position with no real understanding of what goes on here in the real world.

You are right.

The person without a sword who finds them-self before an enemy is either a goner, or a coward who must run. Thus every proper bard carries not only words, but also a sword.

Don't you think it's funny that words is an anagram for sword?

Both are useful, but for me, I always draw my pen first.

But a person is either a barbarian brute if they carry only a sword and use no words, or a flowery poet who runs like a coward when they can't psychologically manipulate someone with their words.

So I prefer both. It is the honorable thing to do. A duel of words or swords both allows the most skilled to be the victor. And honor is something I will not forget, even in the heat of this insane societal battle we are in.

Thus my enemy is welcome to draw upon both their words and their sword, just so long as I am allowed the same kindness. And if I am not allowed that kindness, then things will become very messy indeed.

But here: Let me reference something you said: "Fascists would rather just flat-out kill you than listen to you ramble on."

Isn't that what you implied should be done with fascists in your original post? Well, are you a fascist then?

Then the person without a mask sees the situation clearly.

You are both the same. You are truly the authoritarian oppressor that all free people fear. I see it clear as day. And I fear you.

If you cannot see this, it's because you have flags covering your eyes. I do not. I see that a person who wishes to silence people with force is the oppressor. This is beyond obvious, and it is a lack of personal insight and philosophical sagacity that prevents you from seeing this.

This world is not "fascists vs good guys."

You can be a bad guy, no matter your faction. Your personal alignment is one that troubles my heart.

You are not a kind person, and you bring fear into this world. You talk about violence and hurting people over words. You are taking this too far.

this about sums up the argument right here



This post has been rated by the user-run curation platform CI! In this platform users are able to manually curate content. This is done regardless of Steem Power, for both rewards and vote size calculation.

Join in at our site here!
https://collectiveintelligence.red/

Or join us on discord to interact with the community!
https://discord.gg/sx6dYxt



This post was submitted for curation by: @anarchyhasnogods
This post was given a rating of: 0.9980011290457569
This post was voted: 100%

I've seen it a lot lately too. Do you know what NPC stands for?

you ever play a video game or dnd or anything? Its a game term, it stands for "non player character". It's basically defined as an inhuman object the player interacts with. A big thing is that most of them are based off the same base and are just clones of each other (it is simpler and ok in game design), the problem comes from the fact that they are treating people like them....including the it's ok to literally slaughter them part ..... (we have literal concentration camps for immigrants in the US smh)

anybody using that in a joking way against people should be blocked, ignored, etc

anybody using that in a joking way against people should be blocked, ignored, etc

...." If you can't laugh at yourself, you're missing out on the joke"

(and displaying worrying personality traits... bordering on malignant narcissism, sociopathy, and psychopathy )

It 'non standard player' - it's used by people with a sense of humor against peole with non. (fascists and communists)
They can't fight it, they do not possess the weapon of fun. - and they feel very threatened by gray stick figures talking.
It's a form of mental illness...

Non playable character (in computer game)

Cg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 61240.20
ETH 3247.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45