You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Gun Debate - A Challenge to Conservatives

in #politics6 years ago

Another good take on the situation.

"I'll post a disclaimer before writing this. My formatting is terrible so if this ends up looking like a massive blocky rant, bear with me.

During my early years I've always been a "sensitive" kid. Empathetic, compassionate, supportive. This has landed me in more situations where people have manipulated said emotions to their advantage than I can count which resulted into me repressing them. Being more "stoic", yes? No. Fuck no. That's not what stoicism is. I've come to realize only very recently that repressing these emotions gives you little(or big) outbursts of someone-please-fucking-make-me-feel. This in result causes you to be a slave to the first person, be it man; woman or dog, that gives you some type of emotional tingle. It's the worst thing one can possibly do and at the end of the day collides against a semi popular TRP endorsed theory, Carl Jung's "shadow self". If you don't know what it is, please look it up.

Now, to get to the point. We've all been told to "suck it up" or "stop being a pussy". These statements are not wrong but have been misinterpreted. A lot of people who have been emotionally weak like myself turn cynical and close off completely which is, as mentioned above, a terrible idea. Emotional strength is not an absence of emotion, it's the ability to see and interact with your emotions without letting them cloud your judgement, affect your life and hold you slave to them. They are very, very important to your growth and development. They make you human. If you keep them locked away, they drag everything else that's enjoyable with them. Sadness is out the door? Well, so is euphoria. I know I'll sound like a hippie when I say this but you need to be in tune with your emotions.

Before you misunderstand, no, I don't mean go around crying at the sunset or baw your eyes out when you see a cute little kitten by itself on the street eating leftovers. Do not let people step over your emotions. This is done by keeping them under your control. Do you feel sad about that one girl that rejected you in high school? That's OK. Embrace it, let it sink in and move on. Don't lock it away nor mull over it. The middle is the perfect balance.

Meditation, exercise, a good environment and a drive to understand your feelings helps you control them.

Treat your emotions like a pitbull. Keep them in a cage long enough and they turn rabid. Some people who see them will kick the cage or rattle it knowing full well there's nothing that it'll do. Walk it with you on a leash, let it see the world and train it enough, however, and people will admire your dedication and how disciplined your best pal is.

Apologies if I didn't make much sense but this is the best way I can convey this topic."

https://www.reddit.com/r/TheRedPill/comments/7xxpxq/keep_your_emotions_on_a_leash_not_in_a_cage/

Sort:  

That all sounds like good advice in general... I just don't see what it has to do with reducing mass shootings?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 56570.01
ETH 3028.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29