You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: All information at your hands is yours. You can use it how you like. But they will try to stop you.

in #politics8 years ago (edited)

It's so true, there really is nothing anyone can do to stop the spread of information, art, anything that is put out there...but to hold it in one's own mind or perhaps a secret journal :)

I have a theory about that as well, I think ideas are an energy we don't quite understand. When I have an idea, I think others do too, anyone who's "tuned in" to the same sort of energetic frequency by their experience and general focus as a waking human.

But art I believe is different. It's something that is personal and comes from oneself alone. It's not like having an idea to start a particular business, or a clever invention. And so, how is the artist able to say, this was mine, this came from my experience, if others simply take it and call it their own experience?

I agree that copyright is not a great solution for the artist. It doesn't really do much unless, as you said, I want to get the government to ruin the person who defrauded me's life.

But that's also different than crediting. If someone say's "this poem is from this barefoot guy, here it is" I'm actually okay with that. I don't need to grant permission. But I do have a problem with someone saying "this is mine, I experienced this and then wrote it" which essentially happens when someone doesn't credit.

As for paying me to use or share my work, that's besides the point and a different problem I have to solve...how to feed my family.

But if someone took your identity, your face, your scars, your experiences, your lovers, your children...called all of that there's and essentially fronted themselves as being you, that's not okay either. Copyright doesn't solve that problem...but it sort of lets people know "I'm not okay with that"...or at least that's how I presently see it.

I'm open to exploring this subject more though. I want to expand my thinking and find out how to better solve the question of how to maintain an artists intimate identity with their creations while sharing it freely. And perhaps all that's needed is credit. The reason not giving credit is not okay in my opinion is it not only robs the artist of their voice, but robs the world of hearing and knowing the true artist behind that art. So it boils down to authenticity and relationships.

I'm rambling...but sort of trying to think out loud on the subject. Thanks for the article. Really thought provoking.

Namaste

Sort:  

Luckily for us, a person can only steal art for so long.

At some point, they'll be found out, and then shamed. Endless shame.

I think most people, no matter the laws, severely look down on art-thieves who claim that content they're selling is theirs. But that's still different than selling bootleg copies of stuff out of a back of a van.

I'm not really sure how to deal with that.

Nice, really clear cut.

My poetic mind tends to be a very densely populated forest of old growth and open caves to get lost in. I like when someone can really just be crisp in their laying something out.

And I believe you're right, perhaps it's hard to see that long-term thing when you're in the moment. Thus copyright only serves the artist in making them feel safe, when really it's not helping anything but making them seem like everyone else.

And honestly, if someone was selling my work, crediting me, in bootleg form...at this point in my life I wouldn't mind...I'd appreciate them getting my name out there! Because honestly, the most important thing to me, is that I'm read and my words can mean something to more people. I mean that too, not trying to be all superior or something.

Maybe if I was relying on my poetry to pay the bills and bootleg sales were actually making me suffer, it would be different. Or if a musician took my words, put them to song, and it was a huge hit and I never saw the credit or any kickback...that would sting because I actually need money to take care of my daughter and am in a serious need situation.

I think Steemit CAN be a partial solution. The issue is visibility here, for one thing. I'm used to posting a poem on instagram and having several likes within the first minute. If it takes longer than 1 minute to get my first like, I begin panicking and consider removing the post! LOL And I usually want between 200 and 300 likes to know I did good.

Here, I'm finding 15 votes is amazing...and especially when the potential to get paid is involved, it becomes a thing...okay off track...but again, thank you for this article and discussion...

you may have a convert to your reckless ways...but I research things a lot first..so we need to keep the conversation going.

At some point, they'll be found out, and then shamed. Endless shame.

Exactly and it is very much a matter of courtesy and good behaviour. I don't think real people (not talking about corporations) would sue anyone who acted in good faith or made a mistake.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59715.05
ETH 3186.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42