Political Satire Surreal Art

in #political8 years ago

Some artists paint to inspire beauty. I paint to inspire thought. As a result, not all of my work is beautiful. That is, perhaps not beautiful in the traditional way.

My work appeals to the mind, and often enough, to anyone who shares my political leanings.

I've had no shortage of inspiration from my American neighbours' upcoming election, so let's start with a repost from my last post;

"Making America Great Again"

In a dystopic future, Trumpasaurus Rex has won the election, and leads the world into a new age.

And then, as part of a larger series of mine called Old Remasters (where I repaint classic works of art with a modern/pop culture twist), is this one;

not as easy to see his face, but Trump stands tall as the Statue of Liberty, shooing away a raft full of immigrants.

“F* off you tired, you poor,
You huddled masses yearning to breathe free,
The wretched refuse of your teeming shore.
Send these, the homeless, tempest-tossed, to Mexico:
I’ll take some wives, but no one more.”   

The original piece, of course, is called Raft of the Medusa, for those of you who'd like to compare.

And then there are the pieces about my own Canadian Government.

"The Road to Hell is Paved with Misdirection"

Stephen Harper, worst Canadian prime minister in my recollection. Guilty of many crimes against our country's  ecosystems, and economies. On the bright side, our very low dollar has caused a boom in Toronto's film industry.... And I sell my art for Canadian dollars *nudge nudge wink wink*.


"Let Them Eat Crack"

Toronto's own crack smoking former mayor, Rob Ford, as Marie Antoinette. Also famous for the gem "I have more than enough to eat at home", his televised denial of cunnilingus with staff.

(terrible mayor, but RIP anyway, Mr. Ford)

And then for our most recent election;

"The Immaculate Election"

When it was time for Harper to step down, a young and handsome son of a previous prime minister stole the hearts of all the young voters.

There is much hope for you Justin Trudeau, but there is also a fear in my heart that expectations are too high to be met. There has been a great deal of negative press up here in Snow Mexico toward Obama, which saddens me, because it means that all too many people don't understand how much damage there was to fix from the Bush regime, and how much opposition Obama faces to make positive change.

And with that, I leave you some links to my work on social media:

https://www.facebook.com/RachelSVParry/

https://twitter.com/RachelSVParry

https://www.instagram.com/rachelsvparry/

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 59010.30
ETH 2515.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45