You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: HOW JOBS DESTROY WORK (PART THREE) by EXTROPIA DaSILVA OVERWORK

in #politcs8 years ago

While I agree that too many employers exist that only care about profit, I truly believe there are many small business owners who take pride in providing a good paying job to their employees. They do this in part because they truly care for their employees (they are not all evil). They also do it because they know that their products and services will be better quality if their employees are happy.

Interesting example with the bears that only have to catch five fish per day until the boss bears come along. However, I think that in a truly capitalist society the bears would fight for their right to continue to fish as they always have. If that doesn't work they can probably find a different river to fish with equal or greater success.

So it is with jobs. If you are working for a business that doesn't value you and your contributions with fair pay, figure out how to perform better or get your ass up and walk out the door. Find a company that will reward you for your hard work, skills and dedication.

Sort:  

Hi. I am the person who wrote this essay. You are correct in saying not all businesses treat their employees badly. The point of these series of essays is not to condemn capitalism but to explain how in some cases people come to have negative feelings about their job. You say people should figure out how to perform better but in later instalments I talk about executive practices that punish employees no matter how well they perform. For example: Corporate raiders busting up companies and 'downsizing' the staff even though said company was perfectly viable. And walking out of the door is not really an option for those who are one pay check away from being in serious financial trouble.

But like you said not all employers are evil. I am thinking of doing an essay or maybe series of essays on the subject of 'The Good Guys' who built up businesses that are great places to work.

@extie-dasilva Excellent work! Glad to meet you!

Thanks for your response. Again, I agree that there are issues, especially in the large corporations. I will be interested in reading about the corporate raiders, that sounds like a serious issue. I do wonder how common of an issue that is. I suppose you will shed some light on that.

Please forgive me if my comment came across as insensitive. I too have been in positions where walking out the door without a solid plan would have been disastrous. Too many people are in that situation for a variety of reasons, including these employment issues we are discussing and the high levels of debt in our society. I personally have had to work very hard for a long time and exercise a lot of self discipline to improve my financial situation.

I would not advocate just walking out the door without a plan. I am always working behind the scenes to improve myself. I think the solutions to most of my problems are found inside me. I don't see a lot of value in the finger pointing. Not saying that's what you're doing but that is just my philosophy.

I would also love to read about the good guys.

Thanks again for your thoughtful work!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 62835.77
ETH 3392.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50