Trying to grasp Polish

in #polish6 years ago (edited)

As the date for Steemfest in Poland is getting closer and closer, I decided to take a look into the Polish language, starting with the basic, alphabet, cause it's nice to pronounce things correctly.

After watching the video, I must say that I'm quite amused of how many ways Polish (and Slavic languages) have figured a way to say [s]. Or those sssssnake voices (it makes me think that the best snake whisperers would be Slavs), you know what I mean. If not, watch the video.

Even though they have a gazcillion ways of zcaying thingsz (sorry), I like that the letters are at least consistent (am I right?) with pronunciation, like in Finnish actually, most of the time.

Oh, oh, I found a real term for "snake voices": sibilant.

Now I can speak using real terms, so civilized.

So, Polish seems to have... many sibilants:

c, ć, s, ś, z, ź, ż

Only zetas alone you have three different kinds, damn.

Oh, then there's also these nasal vowels:

ą, ę

Just look the video how their pronounced.

Right, then there's the l with a cross

Ł, ł

which is just like /w/ in English.

Anyhow, to get back to the topic, the reason why I found the amount of sibilants in Polish amusing and slightly overwhelming personally, is because in Finnish, instead of having 7 sibilants, we have one... Yes, ONE snake voice to cover all purposes, and it's pronounced the same every time. Not that stupid inconsistency like in English.

Here it goes, it's

s

It's essentially the same as the s (out of the seven different ones).

So, it might take couple of trials to get used to the idea that my s is suddenly 7 different kinds of s.

And to make it more confusing, you combine these together!?

cz, sz, śc, ćź, żc(?), śz(?)

In Finnish we have it way more simple:

ss

Basically you just take the one s and prolong it when you see there's two of them.

In Polish there's a word

cześć!

which means "hi!"

But as a Finn doesn't recognize half of those letters, he/she would just say

tsess

and start wondering why does it sound so much like "chess" in english.

If he/she was particularly unmotivated to learn this new language, he would just make it

ses

We obviously like to make things simple when it comes to "snake voices", however, in Finnish we make things way more complicated with vowels and combining them:

hääyöaate = night wedding idea

Six vowels in a row – nice.

While that isn't exactly a real world, it's technically correct to say it.

Right, you may want to know how to say hääyöaate so you can impress your friends:

Ä is like a in as, and when it's two ä's in a row, you just say it like ass without the two esses in the end. Easy, right? Just keep the ass rule in mind.

Y is similar as in the word two or too in English.

Ö... well... like this.

A is like u in the words fuck and undone. Wait... it's also the o in the latter word... Yeah, inconsistent language like I already told you.

E is like e in held. Weird, that word is actually consistent with Finnish pronunciation.

Now that you know 5 out of 8 Finnish vowels already, I'll teach you the remaining ones and then you're ready to read Finnish.

I is like e in east.

O as o in only or often.

U as in school.

Great now you can read Finnish!

Minä söin eilen jäätelöä hyvän työpäivän jälkeen vaivattuani öylättiä öisiä häitä varten

= Yesterday I ate ice cream after having knead wafer for the night wedding.

I know, the sentence makes little sense, I just wanted to return the favor of the zcczsccs.

So, with all those vowels, a drunk Finnish man is easy to spot.

OHHOÄÄÄEAJAIAIAAIHJAÄAÄAEAEAIJHAIHEOEHOOAEAE (bemoans in Finnish) PERKELE!!! (swears in Finnish)

Now you might be questioning that why am I bringing this up. Well, two reasons:

Number 1 is that I hope I won't get so drunk that my language flips back to my mother tongue and I start to sound like in the above video.

Number 2, I hope there won't be as much snow in Krakow as in the video. Actually snow is worst coupled with alcohol because passing out in cold might be fatal. So, now I'm just hoping @guyfawkes4-20 won't drown me with Palinka. I'm afraid even a single shot of that stuff will get me tipsy.

Sort:  

What a nice little tutorial, my Finnish brother. Mind if I slap in some Estonian?
Ulata õlu üle Ülo õe õla!
Pass the beer over Ülo's sister's shoulder!

Õunapuu õitseaeg on Jüriöö ülestõusust jõululaupäevani.
Blossom-time of an apple-tree is from the Jüriöö uprising until the Christmas Eve.

Both sentences seem to be that kind that one would need right away after 10 beers.

What a nice little tutorial, my Finnish brother. Mind if I slap in some Estonian?

Thanks @kristves! I'm always open for some Estonian! :D

Ulata õlu üle Ülo õe õla!
Pass the beer over Ülo's sister's shoulder!

Haha, I love that!

Okay, I'm definitely not doing this :))) Way too complicated, although I love languages. :d (decent ones, at least)
I'll just nod and point all the way, yeah? :D

Whether you mean the Polish or Finnish, I understand you're not bothering with either, heh, both are deemed to be quite difficult.

Spanish seems quite easy now after having troubles just learning the pronunciation of Polish...

No worries, all you need to know in Finnish is PERKELE, and you will grab the attention of a Finn in no time. While in most situations, I don't think it's too desirable, but maybe you can utilize it at Steemfest, for example.

Wait, it's not desirable to use the word or grab the attention of a Finn? :))
I shall yell it at @tarazkp though, because it sounds like a lot of fun and I can't really yell it at you, can I? :)))
(I did google it, by the way :P I love learning stuff like that...see, the fun side of languages!)

It's ah ah, isn't it? I sat through a long list of Finnish profanities (very interesting and inventive, I might add) and have concluded you either said ah ah or fuck fuck. :)))

It's more like "oh no." Taraz is scared that you're gonna learn more Finnish in a week than him in 15 years.

Wait, it's not desirable to use the word or grab the attention of a Finn? :))

Well, that was with the presupposition that your average Finn is an aggressive drunken asshole, but I can assure you that I differ from this stereotype :)

I shall yell it at @tarazkp though, because it sounds like a lot of fun and I can't really yell it at you, can I? :)))

Of course you can! Hearing foreigners swear with my mother tongue always brings a smile on my face (remember to roll the R real good – it's the backbone of the devil 😉)

I'm sure not all Finns are like that. I mean judging from you and Taraz (by now an honorary Finn, surely), I'm positive that's not true.
Damn, now I must either practice a lot :)))

W Szczebrzeszynie chrząszcz brzmi w trzcinie!

Oh my god...

Or try...

Stół z powyłamanymi nogami.

Lol I doubt you grasp enough just in time but I don't think it is beyond you

Yeah, it's not impossible of course – I can sorta grasp the sibilants – but I don't think I will have too much motivation to get too in depth into the language in couple of weeks, haha.


Thank you @celestal! I didn't think that I will find even one thing that I will like about not being in steemfest.😝

Oh, couldn't make it even though you got a ticket? :/

Nope. I gress that Krakow was not the city that was promised...

Dar kartą ačiū. Dabar jūsų suomių / Tolkieno kalba nebeatrodo tokia keista.

Nope. I gress that Krakow was not the city that was promised...

Hm, that's a shame.

Dar kartą ačiū. Dabar jūsų suomių / Tolkieno kalba nebeatrodo tokia keista.

What you saying? :D The first part seems to be something in Lithuanian about Finnish.

"What you saying?"
Not gonna use google translate? Mission failed😝
I was saying that thanks to you your finnish/Tolkien's language no longer seems so strange to me.

Honestly it didn't even cross my mind to try google translator because I'm used to just using an online wordbook. Anyhow, you're welcome :D

Well, I guess there's only one way to find out how drunk you can get from a single shot. ;)

Yeah, it means human experimenting, lol.

Hi @celestal!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.774 which ranks you at #4795 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 1 places in the last three days (old rank 4796).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 241 contributions, your post is ranked at #36.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63466.84
ETH 2636.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76