Quick Quiz to Find Out If You Prefer Slavery or Freedom

in #policyofliberty6 years ago (edited)

Perhaps by now you have realized that you live in a largely unfree, "developed" country. On the one hand, some of you would state that you want to be free instead, yet you take no action. On the other hand, others of you have already left and are pursuing a freer way of life.

Taking this short quiz below will help clarify the paradox of why people are willing to stay in relative danger and some degree of slavery. See how you do! Self-score the test by assigning the appropriate number to each question and them summing the numbers. Also include the point deductions and additions found at the end of the quiz.

A. (1 point) Being near my family is more important to me than being freer. Or (5 points) being freer is more important than living near my family. (Give yourself 2, 3 or 4 points if you are somewhere in the middle).

B. (1 point) Living among a people that speak a different language than me is not acceptable, even if by doing so I could be freer. Or (5 points) Living among a people that speak a different language than me is acceptable, if by doing so I can be freer. (Give yourself 2, 3 or 4 points if you are somewhere in the middle).

C. (1 point) I would rather be less free that struggle to learn a new language. Or (5 points) I am willing to learn a new language if I can move to a place where I am freer. (Give yourself 2, 3 or 4 points if you are somewhere in the middle, and also 4 points if the language you would be required to learn meets certain criteria, e.g., you are willing if the language is a major one like Spanish, but not a minor or "basically useless/limited" one like Estonian or Thai).

D. (1 point) Living among a people that are largely of a different race or religion than I am is not acceptable, even if by doing so I can be freer. Or (5 points) Living among a people that are largely of a different race or religion than I am is acceptable, if by doing so I can be freer. (Give yourself 2, 3 or 4 points if you are somewhere in the middle, for instance only 4 points if you refuse to live in a Muslim culture like Dubai, that is otherwise free, or Chinese-dominated Singapore).

E. (1 point) I am only willing to move to a freer place if my wife/husband agrees and comes with me. Or (5 points) I am willing to move to a freer place whether or not my wife/husband agrees and comes with me. (Give yourself 2, 3 or 4 points if you are somewhere in the middle).

F. (1 point) I need to work still and I am only willing to move to a freer place if I can get a job there (or bring an online one with me), otherwise I prefer to remain in relative slavery. Or (5 points) I do not need to work, or I need to work but being freer is more important than having the assurance of a job in another, freer country, even if I have to start a business of or bring an online job with me, perhaps with lower pay, since I refuse to remain in relative slavery. (Give yourself 2, 3 or 4 points if you are somewhere in the middle).

G. (1 point) "The social benefits that I have where I am now are phenomenal, including welfare, affirmative action, and much more." Or (5 points) I do not like the state or want any of its "benefits," especially when someone else has to pay for them. (Give yourself 2, 3 or 4 points if you are somewhere in the middle, for instance no more than 4 points if you agree with the 5-point statement with the exception of Social Security, i.e., a state pension, or free or in-state university tuition).

H. (1 point) I am willing to die by the hand of the state or other oppressor if things get bad enough where I am now, so long as I do not have to deal with the emotional and financial expense of moving to a freer place; I'll take my chances and hope I am lucky (even if I am really setting myself to be "boxcar bait"). Put 2 points if you agree with the prior statement but you are only willing to suffer imprisonment, regulatory hassles or asset confiscation—but not death. Put 3 points if you agree with the last statement but only if you have to put up with relatively minor things like political correctness and social violence by murderers or brutal police actions, rather than the aforementioned maladies or death. Put 4 points if the last statement would be right if I were only facing a higher probability of catching an infectious disease, rather than artificial death, imprisonment, etc. Or (5 points) I would rather accept some hardships and inconveniences that going to a free place entails rather than run any serious personal risk stemming from violent criminals, war, confiscatory taxation or malicious states.

I. (1 point) My opportunity cost of leaving my home country and going to a freer place is too high compared to the improbable scenarios of things getting much worse where I reside presently. Or (5 points) The expected or potential costs of where I am presently living, including the expense of finding a reliable spouse or girlfriend/boyfriend, are very higher, such that I would rather risk trying my hand in another place that admires who I am. (Give yourself 2, 3 or 4 points if you are somewhere in the middle). Give yourself no more than 3 points if you believe that all other countries are inferior to America, Canada, Western Europe, and if after moving to a new place you are likely to complain and become negative when other countries do not meet with such a standard.

J. (1 point) I find new cultures and international travel terrifying; there is more to life than financial, social and political freedom. Or (5 points) I find new cultures and international travel exciting, and I value freedom more highly than just about anything else. (Give yourself 2, 3 or 4 points if you are somewhere in the middle, but score yourself no higher than 3 if you do not have a valid passport).

Deductions: -5 points if you do not have a valid travel document (passport), -2 points if you do not already have an offshore account, an offshore precious metals depository, crypto currency accounts, or a portable job, and -1 point if you do not speak English fluently. -4 points if you are presently on welfare or the dole, or if you have a debilitating or chronic disease (or history of illness) that either makes it hard to emigrate or hard to qualify for medical insurance in another country. -1 point if you cannot fly in either commercial or private airlines, for health or other reasons, making any proposed transition much more difficult.

Additions: +3 points if you already speak fluently the language of a chosen freer country (e.g., Spanish for Chile or Panama; English for New Zealand; Italian, French or German for Switzerland; and so forth); +2 points if you speak any other language fluently (+1 point if it happens to be an indigenous one or one spoken by less than 100,000 people in the world). +1 point if you have no children to leave behind or are unmarried. +2 points if you are wealthy or retired on a pension that you may receive outside of your home country. +1 points if you have an advanced degree. +1 point if you happen to have fair skin and light-colored eyes, or are a younger (especially pretty), eligible female who is willing to marry a foreigner. +1 point if you already have a second passport that is not issued by a communist or oppressive Muslim country.

Score interpretation (summing all responses):

45+ points = you are already on your way or settled in a freer place.
35-44 points = you will likely immigrate to a freer place someday, but you have some issues to sort out in the meantime.
20-34 points = you have an intellectual curiosity about living in a freer place but, come on now, you know full well that you will never leave.
10-19 points = you are (for all intents and purposes) a feudal serf and will likely remain such for the remainder of your life. In fact, you probably would never have bothered to read an article like this one.

My evaluation is based on years of experience helping newcomers come to Chile, and watching others try in vain to convince lower-points people to do the same.

John Cobin, Ph.D.
Escape America Now


Policy of Liberty on Facebook
Policy of Liberty on Twitter

Sort:  

Wow! I got 52 points! And, yes, as it says, I have already left the old country for a freer one.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 59351.18
ETH 2529.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42