You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why I Didn't Become A Cop: An Introduction

in #police8 years ago

There were things I saw while in the academy that turned me off from the idea that police are the sole protectors of civilization.
I think one of the most disgusting things we were trained to do was in Baton Training class where our instructor told us to yell "Stop resisting" while hitting someone. I asked what to do when they have stopped resisting or are incapacitated. The instructor responded that if no one was around you could go to town continuing beating them, but if any one came on to the scene you should stop immediately and just keep repeating "I feared for my life" or "He/She went for my gun". He said "It's always brutality, you might as well make it fun."
After completing the academy and after many interviews I began reading For A New Liberty by Rothbard and to look into private security firms in the area. That's where my thoughts began to shift to the private sector, contractual service companies where we could see more accountability and funding wouldn't be compulsory regardless of services rendered.
Thanks for reading and commenting.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64136.76
ETH 3522.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57