You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Sorry for The Whole SWAT Raid

in #police8 years ago (edited)

So, first, I obviously just want to say I'm sorry that you have lost friends and/or family to drugs. That's terrible and its tough for anyone to go through. I can't speak as of now to the feelings of losing a loved one personally, but I know people who have gone through that themselves and its just terrible.

If the day comes when I do lose a friend to drugs, I will not change my position though. A principle shouldn't be compromised just because I'm sad at the fact that a loved one could possibly die from their decisions. Its none of my business, its THEIR life, their decisions.

Also, stealing is already a crime, and violates the property rights of an individual, something I was actually going to get to related to the no-knocks. So someone on drugs who steals something is just as criminal as someone sober who steals something and I don't believe in outlawing drugs and compromising self-ownership to prevent theft, especially because government should never be in the prevention business.

I don't have the attitude of "fuck the police" because I don't think that's fair to the very very few libertarian cops who are out there truly serving their community, not pulling people over for speeding but actually being their to stop crime or catch criminals. But I am of the attitude that what police have become in this country is fucking ridiculous. The majority these days are thugs who are given an insane amount of power and have absolutely no idea about the constitution or the bill of rights, let alone any idea of what government should be doing morally speaking which is very little.

It felt like a violation because that's exactly what it was. If I ran a bar, especially in one of the deadliest cities, I would have a nice AR or shotgun under that counter. And if a gang, like an actual violent biker gang or something like that, came through the door with guns a blazing, I would defend myself and my property. How are the cops any different in that situation? They are not.

And let's say I didn't have a gun, I would call the cops!! The government shouldn't be allowed to do something that I would normally call the government to come stop!! Does that make sense? I may be saying it in a confusing way.

Sort:  

A good friend of the family actually lost all three of her daughters - all 3 hooked on heroin. 2 died from overdoses and 1 from suicide after getting high. She is now tasked with raising 2 of her grandchildren because one father is in jail and the other is AWOL. Death is easy. Surviving the loss of a loved one is not. My friend continues to blame herself...and she will not listen when people say "it's not your fault." But as a parent, we take 'ownership' of our kids. I would go as far as saying our kids are our legacy. They pass the stories and memories forward to the next generation. Our path to immortality is through that legacy. Am I getting way out there for you?
We can agree that there are bad cops everywhere, but I would say the majority are serving their community while the very few take advantage of the system and their authority.
But I believe the system is broken. I have a distinct feeling of us vs. them and have no faith in our government leadership, especially when they don't live by the same rules in which they govern the people by. I'd even say that our police officers, many whose goal is to serve their community and make it a better place, are bound by the governing faction.
Let me give you an example: gardenofeden often goes into the community to serve food to the homeless and needy. The cops show up because gardenofeden is doing something illegal. The cops didn't make that ordinance. In fact, many of the cops think it's a great community service and throwing out perfectly good food instead of feeding hungry people is a complete waste. But if they don't write a citation or put a stop to the civil disobedience, they're not doing their job. Whose fault it is? I'm telling you, there are a few bad seeds in the Blue ranks, but the focus should be on who pays them when you're looking at the bad apples.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67978.59
ETH 3270.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65