You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Consequences of PTSD

in #police6 years ago (edited)

I was abused at the hands of police for "mistaken identity". I ended up with a concussion or a contusion from having my head slammed into the car. I had memory problems for months after the attack. I still have some memory problems to this day. I also have PTSD from it. After that horrible day, I would shake and get really nervous whenever I saw a cop or one was around me. I didn't feel safe. I felt worse when they were nearby. I even started having panic attacks. PTSD is real and it sucks. I share police brutality videos to increase awareness of the reality of the violence, but it's sometimes hard to watch them. I sometimes have flashbacks when I see them. And, I start to have PTSD symptoms. People who have never experienced the violence and abuse of cops have a hard time understanding why some people are passionate about showing people the true nature of government police. I wouldn't wish it on anyone. But, I wish more people could understand how horrible it could be. I was innocent. I was doing nothing wrong. I was in a public place. And, I got attacked and kidnapped. What everyone needs to know is that it can happen to anyone. It forever changed my life, and in some ways led me to where I am today. But, I wouldn't want anyone to have to go through that feeling of helplessness and abuse at the hands of people who are supposed to be keeping you safe. I feel more safe when they are not around.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58659.71
ETH 3164.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43