Click It Or Ticket

in #police7 years ago (edited)

lens19687431_1344450505__.jpg

"It's All About Safety"

Catchy little public safety message huh? Not quite. This is just another of the many things that government does to extort money from the public...all under the guise of something that is in our best interest of course!

This is a follow up to my last article titled 'My Day In Court' that was about another police state 'safety minded' program that is known as photo radar enforcement. That too is all about public safety and something that is for our best interest...the fines are not to be looked at as theft, but donations.

Anytime the state wants to raise revenue it is always done under the guise of something that is 'for our own good' as in speeding tickets and seat belt laws. Don't get me wrong, I do believe seat belts save lives and I also think it's a good idea to always wear a seat belt while driving. I am not in any way advocating against seat belts, but I am advocating against the state telling adults that they have to wear one or be subject to a fine.

I am against this for several reasons, first, if you truly do own yourself, what gives the government the right to decide what safety precautions you chose to participate in if any at all? Second, if this was truly just about safety then why is there a fine attached to this public service? As an adult, I should be the one that decided all matters involving my life. The government should not be able to enforce laws which govern how I decide to control my body, as long as what I decide does not violate another person's equal right to control their body.

This is the same argument I have for all things concerning self-ownership and is the same argument I have for the drug war, income taxes, prostitution, property rights and every other assault against a sovereign individual that the government commits on a daily basis. If you truly did own ourselves, the government would never be allowed to pass laws governing how a particular person chose to use...or abuse their body.

Let me make it clear here, this is not about whether or not seat belts save lives...I am sure they do. This is about an adults right to decide for themselves what risks they are willing to take and live with. I personally think everyone should wear a seat belt, but it's not up to me to decide for others, that's their choice.

We're From the Government... and We're Here To Help!

Yes don't let the rising fines fool you, the government really has your safety in mind and any resemblance to a Ponzi scheme is a mere coincidence I assure you. If you believe that one, I would like to tell you about a deal I have for you, all I will need is your bank account information and I will deposit 100 million dollars into your account.

Sort:  

@blindsman, thank you for supporting @steemitboard as a witness.

Here is a small present to show our gratitude
You can click on your award to jump to your Board of Honor

Once again, thanks for your support!

Congratulations @blindsman! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got your First payout

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @blindsman! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60157.20
ETH 2416.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43