Ticks, Ticks And More Ticks

in #poleshift6 years ago

I have never seen so many ticks in my life. From tiny to big and fat, it seems the ticks are taking over the world, lol. I am stocked up on Colloidal Silver thank the good Lord. Anyone else out there experiencing this? Or are they only on my ridge? As I washed my daughter tonight we pulled off 4 ticks, before the shower we pulled off about 5-6, now mind you we did not go into the woods only in the garden today after church.

I also have a lot of chickens that free range, except for the garden. Crazy times!

Sort:  

I remember a couple of times as a kid walking through nests of baby ticks. Hundreds crawling up my legs. shivers

We've had a bunch here, but we spray cedar oil around the perimeter of our place, and spray pyrethrum on outter clothes, and boots. They do migrate. The Lonestar stick has made it to Missouri. It carries the disease that makes someone allergic to all meat cept fowl, and seafood. My cousin does landscaping and hunting. He got bit last year and now he has an epi pen.

Is it warmer earlier there or a milder winter? They're usually bad for us if not very cold winter.

Well you are not to far from us here, we are in North Central AR, near Harrison. We had a VERY mild winter, which sure does impact the number of ticks. Yea finding tons of these little critters crawling on your skin, and your kid's skin is so bad stuff nightmares are made of. Followed.

I've actually had fewer ticks this year. All the time I've spent tromping around the woods, I've only had two. Maybe they're migrating east. 😏

AGHHHHH! MIGRATING TICKS!!!!! lol... Lucky you, it is terrible here, and I try to keep the deet off, might be time to break down and buy, last year was bad too, but this... whew... back to the lye soap...

Knock wood, we've not seen very many so far....But it's to be 80's in the next couple days, and so things may change.

I hope not. When I moved out here, I realized the ticks up North were like pets compared to the ticks that dominate the woods here. Normally I love hiking, but here it is a huge decision lol. Do we go out and get bit and itch for weeks from the chiggers or spend days pulling ticks off. I have a few tattoos and that is even worse, they are not so easy to spot... missing the ADKs

Sorry to hear this. I have some bad childhood memories of ticks. Hope the tick problems calm down and that your little lady stays safe.

Yeah! me too. How is everything going? So you know quite a bit about steemit right?

Things are going fairly well. Life is busy. Just trying to take in every moment.

I am still learning about Steemit, but I hope that I have learned a few tips and tricks along the way. Is there something particular you are wanting to know more about?

yeah, i read that there is that .02 limit to getting post rewards, I know we briefly touched on it and was wondering if you looked into it at all since then, and does it work the same for curation?... thanks... spring is finally here, we are looking at some storms later this week! good rain it is what we need.

Last year was TERRIBLE for us. I haven't seen any yet but it's jusssst starting to get warm here. I hope they're not too bad! I hate ticks...

Yes last year was awful! I thought at first maybe they were chiggers but nope, they are just to big to be chiggers and they stay attached, you have to pull them off. Last year I used the REPEL but it does not seem to phase them this year.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61680.81
ETH 3443.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51