Steem Poker League - Get To Know the Players - Away From Table [AFT Series Vol. 5]

in #poker7 years ago (edited)

Growing The SPL Poker Community

The Steem Poker League was envisioned by @tuck-fheman in order to enjoy poker with his fellow Steemians. Over the past 20 days or so, we have worked tirelessly to get the league up, and running, with freeroll tournaments around the clock. And in those 20 days we have also grown the league to over 100 players.

Getting To Know The "Enemy"

On the poker battlefield, anyone who isn't yourself is considered the enemy. But in reality, we are all family. We may not share the same blood, but at the end of that day, we all share this great planet. And while this planet is massive, it is not large enough to harbor hate or ill will towards others. The best way to open your mind, is to open your heart. And in order to do so, we will be bringing you a series of genuine/personal interviews of your fellow poker players.

Away From The Table

In our second edition we have one of the most helpful individuals in the SPL community. This guy has goes out of his way to help any member of the SPL community. Whether he is making the new players feel welcome, helping teams with their logos, or just keeping the chat a lively place, we are happy to have him.

Each individual was asked a set of questions, and below are his/hers responses. I have not made any edits, I want you to know the person for who they really are, not for who I think they are...

Please give a warm welcome to @nicnas

20170314_122627_NoName.jpg
Bro, that painting is amazing. I love the detail. The despair is so real.

  • Tell us a little about yourself -- "My name is Nic. I live in SoCal (Southern California, USA). I started playing poker as a teenager online when it was still legal here to gamble online. That was about 15 years ago give or take. I have lived off my winnings in the past. Today I play more for fun. I took a long break and am trying to enjoy it. I place daily sports bets and offer my best picks on SteemIt where I am at about 65% win. I would like to make a living off this if I can. I am also a practicing Busshist. I enjoy writing and teaching Buddhism and Meditation. I also love art (painting), music, movies, paintball, surfing (though I live too far from the ocean right now to make it) and women of course."

  • Why do you like playing poker -- "I play because of the aspect of predictions and odds. I have always been a huge fan of this and am very good at making predictions. I have used these skills to develop a formula for multiple sports. I let my formula do most of the work for me. And try to do the same as far as predicting the the chance of winning a hand and value of bets and calls."

  • What is you favorite hand in holdem -- "My favorite hand has to be the Bitch-Tre (Queen -Three Suited is better of course)."

  • What is your favorite food -- " I love to cook and eat Asian food. But Mexican would be my next favorite. If i were to get specific I would say Cheese is one of my favorite ingredients."

  • Tell us one thing interesting about yourself -- "Without going into too many details I had a difficult 20's. Just under two years ago I had nowhere to live and had ABSOLUTELY nothing. I am doing decent now and was able to use some family support to rebuild my life. I am still working my way back to being self sufficient. I have a few things going for me though that are helping. Family, Motivation, Practice, Investments (SteemIt being one), Sports Predictions and many other things including working on my career."


Wow, brother, I will be honest with you, when I asked you these questions, I did not get a chance to read them right away. Just now as I wrote this piece, I read through your answers. First let me say, you seem like you really know what you love, and you are set out to do those things. I would absolutely love to learn some tips/info about meditation from you. I have always been fascinated with the Buddhist culture/religion. Oh, and you surf? Fucking sweet. I'd love to, but you don't want to see my fat ass on a surfboard. It would be a shark's wet dream. On a more serious, note, no one here knows you personally, so it must not have been easy to disclose some of the information you did. I can tell you, and i'm pretty sure I speak for most everyone on here, we are happy you are a part of the SPL community, and look forward to many more poker hands played.



Please stay tuned for AFT series vol. 6

Sort:  

muy bueno lo compatire en mi perfil

The league is great. I look forward to playing with you guys

What's the name of the poker site? IM READY TO PLAY SOME HOLDEM'!!!

welcome @nicnas

Nice Writing It touches my heart

Greaaaaat one @nicnas

I am reading and knowing about this for the first time.

Anyone similar to me?

yes me as well

Awesome post. You are real fighter@nicnas. Never give up.

very nicely done! I too am an avid poker player on the side so I will hop over and take a look :D keep up the good work guys, hopefully I take some of your money soon... in poker that is :P
Cheers mates!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63749.66
ETH 3419.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48