Time to get back to work!

in #poker6 years ago

blue-1845901_960_720.jpg
So, I have been quite lazy when it comes to poker lately.

Once upon a time, I got up at 5 am, to follow my planned out number of hands to achieve my goals.
At the moment I do whatever and just play whatever comes in my way without any plan at all, this needs to change.

It is time to set new goals.

My challenge (30k to 3 Million challenge) kind of states as a loose plan that I want to make 10% br increase each month.
This will be tough to achieve once the br gets really big, but now this should be a reasonable goal.

While the challenge atm is at $162k, my bankroll is around $90k, allowing me to play $200 tournaments, maybe $500 tournaments too, no $1k.

To have a 10% BR increase I need on average to increase the bankroll by $9k, that does not include cashouts too, but lets say $9k as a monthly goal.

If I assume 20% average ROI, which is the average of most regs, I personally have a bit more atm, but might be variance, so I always assume 20%.

With this ROI, I need to play $45k buyins worth of tournaments each month.
The question is how I want to do that.

If I would play every single day (very very hard, not my plan even in my supernova elite year) , I would need $1.5k per day in buyins.
More reasonable are 20 days each month, you are sick and travel from time to time. So that would be $2.25k each day.

Personally I find to play and stream every day very exciting as a goal. While it is exciting, I do have other things getting in the way.

The other thing is to find a schedule that I can get this much buyins in. 6pm to 11.59pm would be the beset buyins time, also for later $1k tourneys. However thats not really fitting for life and whatnot, I would start playing when my girfriend comes home..

My OG schedule from 2007 was getting up at 4.30am, have 15 minutes to breakfast, 15minutes to warmup and get on the grind. Getting work done right after waking up would also be nice.
This time sucks for tournaments though, I added all the reasonable tournaments I could play at this time and ended up with $1100 of buyins for 5 hours of regging with latereggin into the blue tournament (and possibly 10hours of playing) , not enough.

12am to 5pm regging results in also around $1100 buyins.
Regging for 10 hours straight, from 5 am on, with mostly very very small tournaments, would result in prob near $2k buyins. Not scalable though and would often result in me playing 15h, not doable every day.

Maybe I could play also several sites, tournaments buyins mentioned were stars only, which I used to do.

I guess I really should include the daily 500, which is a new addition to the schedule, which happens at 8pm...

For tuesday , ideally I could still latereg into the daily marathon $55, latereg the Big $109 and start with the $530 BountyBuilder. Into Super Tuesday and / or Mini Supertuesday.
And finish of my registrations with the Fat Tuesday, Hot $109, Daily $500, and Big 215, now thats sounds like an exciting s chedule! Due to turbo, i can also add the Triple threat for another 215$ tourney.

And sometimes it might be tempting to add the late editions of the super tuesdday to if I would feel overitme or aim for a longer session anyway. With this kind of schedule, it seems very doable to reach $2600 buyins a day, which is enough to achieve my 10% growth with 20 days / month.

Unfortunately, this would be the schedule to start at 6pm and register till midnight, often playing till 5am. Then sleep prob at 6-7am, maybe wait for my girlfriend to get up and have breakfast with her, then sleep... been there, done that. Than with 1 hour sleep, the delivery guy rings, every other week you have some stuff to do at 11am and so on.. leads to not a very healthy life after while.

Then there is sunday, which should be a longer day. Lets see if this can make up for having less buyins during the week.

The goal with sunday and having a normal sleepschedule in general, would be to not play the sunday million, because that can go to 8am and screw your rythm up and then you are back to staying up at night and not be able to play on monday. Which is a shame really.. lets try to have the sunday warmup as latest reg.

Side note, there are also tournament series, which might bring me to change my schedule to have the night schedule for a few weeks.

Sunday I would start with the Sunday Starter and end with the Sunday Warmup + turbos.
With this early schedule I would sadly end up wiuth only $1500 in buyins. I guess there is not way around to at least playing the sunday million
Shortly after there would be the $2100 super sunday highroller and so on, to stay scalable in later stages of the challenge.
Extending my schedule a little bit and playing bigger $215 and triple threat zoom (awesome) , I could end up with $4.1k ending in a lot of turbos. I eventually will end up having deep runs and playing till 5 am pretty regulary.

So I guess there is no way of not doing this though.
With Sunday at 4k, and 4x under the week $1k buyins, I would end of with $8k per week, $32k buyins per month.
Maybe sometimes I can play longer under the week.
I could also add sngs maybe? Spin and goes? Zoom cg? Other Poker sites? Other Poker sites might actually be the way to go, together with an extended sunday schedule.

I could also play zoom under the week, play tournaments on weekends, like I always have done, maybe add very good tournaments to my tables, like I did last year.

Lets compare playing 3 tables of zoom during and 8 hour day compared to the tournament schedule that will bring in $200 on average per day.
In 8 hours, I can get around 4-5k hands in. Winning 3bb / 100, I would win 120-150bb in a day, I kind of need to play zoom $200 to compare that to my tournament schedule actually. Obviously I can win more, but I could also have a higher ROI at tournaments. I guess 1-2 tables of Zoom and then the best tournaments of the day schedule seems best.

Let's compare the value of a tournament table to the value of a zoom table. A tournament last around 90min on average.
bringing in 20% roi, a $50 tournament it is worth 10$ , it takes up 1 table, but you only play around 90 hands for this tournament, which is like half a zoom table of the hour. On one zoom table I will play 200 hands, and win 4bb, which would bring in $10 or $5 in an hour, after some trying I could take a shot at nl 500 again, which wuld be $25 per table, but less tables probably. So every tournament that has good roi expectations and is above $22 seems fine. Every $80 tourney and more should be played.
Starting Tuesday at 11am (which leaves learning from 8am to 11am), I could play the Super Tuesday Early Edition and Mini Super Tuesday. Hot $82, Big $162, Hot $162 , $55 Daily Marathon, $82 hyper , Big $44, Hot $33, $215 BountyBuilder
and even the Bounty Builder High Roller $530 at 5 pm, sometimes I will ahve to play longer, ok.
But even without, that gets me to around $1100 Buyins. I would fill that up with probably 1 Zoom table, maybe more.
1 Zoom Table over 8 hours, is comparable to $240, $480, or $1200 of buyins depending on zoom stake.

Together with a BIG sunday and possible saturday (have to make up that schedule another time) I should average
4x $1500 + 1x $ 4k = $10k in buyins over the week. I will be on lookout for great tournaments on other sites too I think.
Possible wait for hu action somewhere too. With all that, maybe sometims 6x per week, I hope to achieve $45k buyins per month, with series stuff, and vacation, $500k per year, setting me up for a $100k year... on average. This will bearly allow me to grow my bankroll tbh if I have to do cashouts. In any event, that rather the minimum of what I need to do to succeed with the challenge in a reasonable time.

That this schedule leaves little time for other things like watching crypto charts and working on my trading bots, is pretty clear.. waking up at 8am, learning till 11am, possible preparing strea!m stuff, writing steem articles. Playing till 8pm, upload youtube vids possibly, enjoy evening.. no time for much else.

Sort:  

The girlfriend without name :D

I will still have to think about what to do know that I figured out the details and talk to my girlfriend too, will announce schedule at some point.

partypoker seems like a good addition for the mtt schedule. think they have way more tournaments now, than in the past.

I'm also a poker player. Have played with you in the past. Are you mostly playing tournaments atm? I'm playing mostly live these days. Definitely hard to keep a motivation for the grind when crypto is going crazy.

Ya, had a 5 months break due to crypto trading and stuff, now I kind of wanted to focus on tournaments only, but that seems hard to do without a night schedule.. So guess back to zoom too.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 60870.17
ETH 3385.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57