Lucky Girl Trying To Have Brain And Balls - Here's How I Won At The Poker Table Last Night

in #poker7 years ago

'Poker is... a fascinating, wonderful, intricate adventure on the high seas of human nature.' - David A. Daniel 

Tell me about it, David. 

Being an adventure seeker I got completely fascinated by this game. 

It's an exciting ride, trying to dominate both games: the one on the table and the one at the table.

Brain and balls - that's probably all that you need. Oh you mean being a girl I don't have balls? Haha!

Winning face | About last night

The Lucky Strike

As I mentioned in my last article my very first poker game here in Vegas ended up being quite expensive.

When analyzing the decisions I made at the table, it was clear to me that at least 80% of my mistakes were the result of insecurity.

It was the very first time I played after 5 years. I had hardly prepared myself for the come back, being convinced that my memory would be easily refreshed when sitting at the table.

That was wrong. I was too nervous and lost $400 bucks in 2 hours for not being able to concentrate myself properly.

@surfermarly and the boyzzz 😎

Last night I did much better!

First of all my seat was probably the very best one in the whole poker room.

I don't believe much in Feng Shui but yesterday I did. While my seat during the first game was located directly at a corridor and people were constantly passing behind me (which really stressed me, even it happened unconsciously), now I was positioned at the corner in the back, having a full view over the whole poker room and all players in it.

I sat down and felt good. Excellent start!

The first thing I did was checking my direct neighbors and their stacks.

A tall strong guy to my left had a relatively nice stack but not one that could have scared me.

The player to my right was the typical flirty guy that started to chat with me right away.

The fact that he had a cigar in his mouth that didn't even burn wasn't helping him much to impress me 😆

As always I tried to be kind, but not too much...

I really loved my table and got paid back with some nice hands.

My second one was a pair of Kings which I played totally tight, kicking one of the players out since he went All-In but couldn't beat my hand.

That hand helped me to gain the respect of the whole table right from the start.

Actually it's not important if the other players consider you being a relevant competitor. But if you see them being impressed because of your actions is excellent for your ego, haha!

Ego doesn't pay you but it makes you more confident, thus stronger.

I had one player to my left who obviously was unable to deal with failure. Any time he lost a hand he started talking to the one who beated him trying to communicate him between the lines that he wasn't "hurt" at all.

Then after losing a hand he usually played very aggressive, revealing that he wanted to get his money back whatever happened.

Too funny!

Sometimes the side actions that are taking place between players are even more entertaining than the game itself.

When I'm not in a hand I just enjoy sitting there and watching how the others go crazy losing their money, haha!

The moment right after winning $300 bucks. Yes behind my hand that's a huge smile 😄

Man I was so lucky with that one hand!!

Actually a huge mistake made me rich, not kidding!

I had King Queen and it came to a nice showdown between myself and one more player.

He wasn't the best player at the table but this time he did everything right - and I did actually wrong.

It turned out that he had an As Queen, so was totally dominating me which I didn't know when another Queen showed up on the Turn.

He went All-In which (for a more experienced player than I am) would have been the no.1 sign that he had As Queen.

However I totally ignored that, called him holding happily the King Queen in my hands and waited for the River.

The whole table was holding their breaths.

Guess which card showed up on the River! Yes, it was the King: the only card that could have saved my ass, haha!

I won because I was lucky - and not because I played well.

Lesson learned! However, the fact that I was able to win made me even more confident (see "ego" above 😉).

I was given another winning chance. This time I played much better.

I raised in a healthy manner not revealing too fast that I got a monster hand.

I had King Queen which turned out to become a two pair on the River. When the only remaining competitor checked (demonstrating that he didn't have such a monster like me) I went All-In.

He folded to stay in the game but went All-In with me some hands later - and lost.

I said "I'm really sorry" (which was totally the truth) and he laughed.

It's weird when players leave the table because you knocked them out.

I guess to them it was even weirder since I was just this blonde girl 😆✌️

What a night!

In the end I finished being $150 bucks up, so adding my yesterday's loss of $400 dollars I'm on my way to get back the initial investment.

It's my last day in Vegas so I will definitely play once more.

Cross your fingers steemians! ♣️

Let's pray for a Feng Shui seat and some nice hands though to make my last hours at this crazy place perfect.

Marly -

Sort:  

What an interesting thing Poker is. I never really knew how to play it, and for some reason, a few months ago I decided I should learn how that stupid game works.

Apparently, after learning the basics, I found myself spending the next 8 hours trying to play, for virtual money. Sadly, I don't live close to anyone willing to really play with me, on a real table, so I have to play online.

However, that doesn't seem to affect my happiness when I win, and oh man, the ego boost that you get when you win, is exactly as you describe it in your post.

One hand you're not sure what to do, and the next hand you're winning, imagining yourself as being a really good player, about to win millions of dollars from that game.

It's a very interesting experience, and I recommend learning Poker to a lot of people. It's not only fun, but it became kind of a "Skill" you should know, whenever you're with a bunch of people and you want to have a little bit of fun.

I do advice not playing for money, at least not if you don't really know the game and if you can't handle the loss, but besides that - Poker is awesome.

Great post, upvoted it and good luck with your future games :)

First of all thank you for your nice comment / support and please apologize my late reply. Following your blog now.

I do advice not playing for money, at least not if you don't really know the game and if you can't handle the loss, but besides that - Poker is awesome.

I think it's important to learn the basics before starting to play cash games. However the "real thrill" comes out of the chance to win vs. lose your real money ;-)

Thanks for the reply and for the follow :) And I guess that's true, I hope one day I become good enough at poker and I feel confident to play for a small amount of money, enough to make me care about winning or losing, and be able to feel that "real thrill" myself :)

Ja Wahnsinn, gibt es was, was Du nicht kannst meine Liebe?

Och Gott Du bist ja süß Uwe!!! Na klar ganz viele Sachen ;) siehe zB meine Antwort an knircky hier

Das ist mit den Heels müssen wir ändern, im September trainieren :-) ok @surfermarly ?

Haha, klar!! Zum Dirndl kann man ja eh keine flachen Schuhe anziehen :-D

omg du sprichst deutsch? haha, ich dachte du kommst aus england oder so :)

Hahaha ich sehe das mal als Kompliment 😄 Danke! Bin 100% Deutsche 😉✌️

Ich bin nur von den edelsten, freundlichsten und huebschesten Englaendern/ Amis ausgegangen, also ja. =P

Du musst jetzt sagen "sie kann nicht so gut in Highheels laufen" @knircky :-D

You gotta know when to hold 'em
Know when to fold 'em
Know when to walk away
Know when to run

I'll bet that gets stuck in a few heads.

Haha that's cool!!! And very true.

Oh yeah, we have balls!

Haha thanks for joining and confirming!!! ;)

Congrats!

Thank you!!! ;))

Nicely played champ 🏆 🏅
Enjoy your last day in Sin City @surfermarly 😎
and be sure to 'STAY HYDRATED' LOL 💧

LOL - here's my way how to stay hydrated (that was a couple of hours ago):

PS: It's just Red Bull on ice. No drugs at the table...😉

Great strategy 🥃
And speaking of, you've probably heard from people down on the Strip already, how next Saturday certain 'things' will be legal for recreational purposes 🔥 👌 😜

Not really haha! But I'm back in Spain now anyways ;)

Glad to hear you made it back OK. I hope your American adventure was beyond awesome 🙌 😎

It definitely was!

Is she really female? Do scheisst di o (liab gmeint) - haha :)

Hahaha as far as I know I am 😁✌️
Thanks - I take it as a compliment 😌

Very cool. Congrats. 100% and resteemed :-)

Thank you Jochen!!! I'm like 2 days behind. Need to reply to so many comments still!! But I'll catch up soon - am already on my way home ;)
BR from Madrid

One of my dreams is to see females with balls. Then I can die peacefully!

Lol - really?? I mean literally? Haha just trying to imagine it...

I'm glad you were able to win back some of that cash! Have a safe trip home!

I lost my whole stack yesterday :-D But hey, now I'm on my way back home where life is cheap and I'll be able to recover financially soon ;)
See you around!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62934.09
ETH 3118.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85