The Trials of a Noob Poker Player

in #poker7 years ago

As a kid I remember my parents hosting Texas Hold'em games at our house on occasion. Even just watching them was quite entertaining.

As I got older I started to watch the World Series of Poker tournaments on TV. It was astounding to me that some players made it to the final table every time despite the odds and the huge field(1000+ players). I knew the game consisted of chance, but obviously it HAD to consist of skill, or else, how would they win consistently. Later, I discovered that this game is perfect just the way it is. The "luck" factor keeps the recreational players interested, and the skill factor makes the game beatable for the ones who wish to make money doing it.

A few months ago I started playing online with some of the income form Steemit. I went from $30 to $200 my first two days playing! Pretty fortunate for me, besides the fact I now had a boosted ego to go along with my zero skill level hahah. I've been up, down, and everything in between, and recently I've faced a wave of losses(mostly due to my lack of self-discipline). I'ts been a polarized experience, but when it's all said and done, I don't think online poker is my best avenue. The competition is profoundly difficult. Don't get me wrong, I don't believe I'm an awful player. Just a marginal one who has much to learn. There are players I've gone against that are truly dedicated to the game, and maybe I might return to that world. For now, I think I need to take a break and study. What does interest me currently is the idea of playing live poker. There are way more recreational players in this environment, and I believe this is where I'll excel, and hopefully gain some momentum. Anyways these were my obstacles I faced, and for anybody doing anything that has got this far... Even though things can get dicey or crazy or disheartening, you can basically do whatever you want as long as you remain passionate about what you are doing! That's what has kept me going, accompanied with the support of the people around me. @quinneaker @saramiller @everlove. ☮

Sort:  

Welcome to Steemit :)
I follow u, follow me back if u want lot of fun and amazing picture every day.

Hey can you change your First Name on the Poker League to your Steemit username with the "@" sign included please. Thanks!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64029.44
ETH 3157.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.02