Pokering: A Blog

in #poker7 years ago

bitcoin-2370611_960_720.jpg

Welcome to my pokering blog!

Though I’ve been playing poker off and on for 15 years, It’s been a few years since I’ve taken the game seriously. However, I’m now being drawn back into the game, due to circumstances that I might discuss in future blogs. It’s incredible how much the game has changed in just the past 3 years. It has been a struggle to catch back up to players who have been learning and gaining experience while my own skill has been atrophying.


A great opportunity to win a small pot or lose a big one.

About a month in, I have come to realize this will be an uphill battle. Not only do I have to work on the fundamentals of the game, I also need to relearn the technical aspects which are somewhere in my brain but haven’t been accessed in a long time. I also have to figure out what my opponents are doing. Both in terms of the general population (herd behavior) and specific opponent types, I need to learn what mistakes people are making these days in order to exploit them.

Of course, I need to identify and eliminate my own leaks if I am to have any chance at finding success at the tables. While some are obvious and easy to root out, others can be far more devious. Add in tilt, which I have always had an issue with, and suddenly the game is not so easy. If I’m to have any chance of winning, I will first need to achieve solvency.

The purpose of this blog is to make it easier to carry out a deliberate process to accomplish my goals.

My Games

My local card room offers 4/8 limit holdem and omaha hi/lo and 3/5 spread limit holdem. I have played mostly spread limit, with very mixed results. I had a couple decent sized wins, but also quite a few losses. Overall, I’m down by 3 to 5 buyins. I have not kept records, which is a leak. This blog will hopefully keep me honest in that regard.

I will be unable to play for the next few days, but I plan on hitting the tables hard mid-week. I may move down to 4/8 to work some of the kinks out of my game. I can handle myself at spread limit, but I end up making single mistakes for way too much money. Hours of slow and steady progress can evaporate in a single hand. Until I’m confident that I’m playing my best, I’m going to avoid those situations and stick to 4/8 limit.

SPL Freerolls

I want to give back to the Steemit poker community. Portions of the liquid rewards from this post will be used to fund Steemit Poker League freerolls! Follow this blog on a regular basis to take advantage of them. Passwords will be included in future posts.

Sort:  

Sup bro! good to see nice poker players writing about it, you can check my poker articles on my profile, too. Best regards bro!

Do you play PLO8? Would love to play this one live, unfortunatelly my poker rooms say they can't offer it, because it's so difficult to rake. :s
GL at the tables from an other grinder.

My local room really only offers 4/8 limit o8b... I rarely ever play it, because I'm just not that good at it. I probably should invest the time to learn playing it at a high level.

welcome aboard fellow poker player:) did you play before black friday? what online pokerrooms in your opinion top3 and why? hope u will sponsor some omaha tournaments in spl

Yeah, I played for years before black friday. Actually, most of the poker that I played was before black friday.

I'm not sure about the current climate, but I have always been a huge fan of Pokerstars. Full TIlt was excellent in its day. Black Chip Poker/America's Card Room are decent sized for US players. I've played quite a bit on Seals With Clubs, but it seems to have had trouble growing and the promotions suck.

An Omaha tournament sounds fun!

Pokerstars was the shit. Sucks we lost that. I loved their tourneys. Huge payouts. Tons of fish. I play at ACR now.. mostly PLO

ACR -.....<<....< ....ok ill look it up!

PLO and HI/lo games, yes i like too - much easier to catch fish indeed.
...sometimes im the fish tho´:-))

Nice idea for a blog. Some of your comments remind me of myself. Although it sounds like you are well ahead of me. Thank you.

I love poker and it can reveal things about your personality. When I focus on the fundamentals I can do quite well but then I get confident > over confident > aggressive > throw fundamentals out the window because I know best and BANG! Back to square one lol

Once I learned to be patient and constantly aware of my own weaknesses I may do better... One day lol

I know what you mean. It's hard to find that sweet spot where you are being aggressive, but not reckless. If it was easy, everybody would be doing it!

I would love an Omaha tourney in SPL (something bigger than the daily .3). Split is fine, though I prefer PLO.

Thanks for the post and welcome back to the game.

Definitely plan on making some of the freerolls PLO.

nice article. yes it changes fast and it is harder nowadays in these massive fields

I am a +18% ROI 🐟

gekofish.jpg

steemit6xtra-tiny.gif

Very nice!

thank you. If you need one player for the Steem-team vs. Reddit-team you can count on me! :-D

welcome to the steem world looking forward to playing ya!

Congratulations @pokering! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got a First Reply

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Hello @pokering.

I was just looking around @spl and noticed your freeroll pop up, which wasn't there earlier or last night. I too, like yourself have played on and off for a little longer, but roughly the same time and have completely refrained for the last year due to two large downswings in succession. I did take a break after the first one, but after an initial teasing win again, I suffered a second massive downswing and it really put me off. Don't get me wrong, I am a poker player at heart, so will 'never' say never, but I had to take stock.

I didn't have the cash flow and then life had a bite and here I am, treading the water, waiting for my next inspiration and Steemit is definitely a part of that. I have had a nice time playing on @spl and have only just started, but it's a nice, friendly site, soft compared to PokerStars, but some genuine good players on there, so you can get a good game and if it grows a little, and keeps where it's at, it'll be a nice regular little haunt for me, between creating posts and reading listening and watching stuff on here, Dtube and DSound.

Sorry for going on a bit, but it's in my nature :). The freeroll is very kind and generous of you and I hope that it brings you many positives. On the point of positives, good luck at the tables and whatever goals and aims that you have, I hope that you attain them and more and you might be in the right place to build the foundation that will maybe (if you need it) bring the solidity and groundedness you need to be able to concentrate your focus on your goals and invest more positive energy into them. I hope that your focus stays clear and precise and that, above all else, you have lots of fun and happiness along the way, whilst meeting and becoming friends with a community of like-mided, forward thinking folk.

Thank you for this post and thanks again for the freeroll and I look forward very much to winning it, as, of course, Sir, and I know you'll reciprocate this one, "I am the best poker player in the World".

Ha, ha, ha, ha, ha :D.

All the best.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64572.94
ETH 2630.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82