First Session

in #poker7 years ago

I was hoping that the first time out after starting this blog was going to be glorious. That didn't happen. It was a pretty bad session overall.

But it somehow ended on a high note...

Screenshot_20170913-021643.png

I was into the game for $360 and I was ready to go home, putting the last of my chips in with AQo. I made a full house by the river that qualified for the poker room's high hand promotion. Unfortunately, so did another player. So I chopped the pot, and eventually split the payout on the high hand for $250.

I hung around and played a bit more after that, eventually ending up down $317 on poker. But the high hand bonus cut my losses to $67.

I also picked up $595 from my hours played in August. The room gives you $5 an hour if you play 100 or more hours in a month. So I got paid today and went home with a nice little chunk of change. But that's on the ledger for last month, prior to starting this blog.

As far as the session itself goes... it was not pretty. I didn't play particularly well. I wasn't running good either, of course. But it doesn't help to dwell on that. Getting coolered or drawn out on is going to happen all the time. How you respond is all that matters.

I ended up playing far too many hands, and calling too many flops. That's a recipe for disaster. I was just bleeding money trying to get lucky. And then when I had a strong hand that I knew wasn't good, I'd pay people off relentlessly.

I need to learn how to play better if I'm going to win.

Sort:  

So much poker to play and so much weed to smoke. Thank you for taking the time out of your day to do this for us all!

You are quite welcome! My many fans are the reason I do what I do.

The first step to win is understanding your mistakes and i see that you understood your mistakes so let's hope in a bit more luck next time.
Followed and want to see more.

how many tables are in your local pokerroom? and what limits are there?

I'm not sure on the number of tables, because some are only used for tournaments. There are usually 1-2 tables of 3/5 spread limit, 3-4 tables of 4/8 limit, and 1-2 tables of 4/8 limit omaha hi-lo, at peak times during the week. Maybe a little busier on friday or saturday nights.

You gotta know when to hold em, know when to fold em. haha, we all have bad runs and made some bad decisions to chase, just gotta work on the habits, easier said than done though

Congratulations @pokering! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63815.31
ETH 3124.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99