You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: An Introduction to Game Theory in Poker

in #poker8 years ago

Is this theoretical or do you really not have cr range on the k84 board? I generally like to cr my gutshots there and some hands like 9Ts with 2 overs to 2nd + backdoors, which I balance by also raising k4 and 44. This does leave my cc range a little weaker than yours, but I think we can easily get away without being 100% balanced against all but the most observant opponents who we play very regularly.

I also open slightly wider utg1 adding ATo KJo Q9s, T8s, 97s, 86s and 76s, but i do remove 22/33.

Do you consider any of those leaks?

Thanks again for sharing, always enjoy seeing the small differences and intricacies in people's play.

Sort:  

I don't think you should c/r the K84 board in this spot. Your range is a little weaker than the button's (since you 3bet big pairs and broadway linear range) and your turn range ends up too weak. It's also much harder to balance having two ranges. of course there can be exploitable adjustments to make, but I think the GTO approach is no c/r range here.

utg1 I think ATo is a fold, KJo is close, Q9s/T8s/97s/76s could definitely be raises. 33/22 could be folds. The key point is that I think 3x raising >20% here is a leak (really think >18% is a strategic leak too, but I guess people can make 20% work?). I could see ways to add 1-4% though (maybe call 3bets slightly wider with hands like T9s/77) and vary the actual hands you have, but I felt raising around 16% seemed like the best strategic approach. What is your continuing range (4b/call ranges) vs button 3bets?

Ya makes sense about the cr.
And I think 20% HJ (we're still talking 6max right?)is definitely no problem, even a few higher should be ok at most tables at the low-midstakes (no idea about the limits you play at but most of the cg streamers that are good seem to be opening anywhere from 20-25%.
hj v btn i 4b something like JJ-AA, AK+ A2-A5s 76s and might extend to a few more scs or suited aces depending on the table, calling most of the rest and folding out the weakest couple %.

I was wondering about calling 3bet range too. I prefer calling JJ/QQ over 4betting because the calling ranges get pretty iffy when you exclude those hands, and if you fold too much then you're just overfolding. And it's not like they print money vs a JJ+ AK 5b range

Sorry i have calling range in there I just didnt word it well. And ya I think that makes a lot of sense for your limits but at the lower stakes ($50-$200nl) (or even higher on places like bovada I've heard) there's enough spew that you can def fistpump gii QQ, with JJ being much closer (and probably bad at a lot of tables).

Did a bit more work, I like this range:
(17.65%) 44+, A2s+, K9s+, Q9s+, J9s+, T8s+, 97s+, 87s, 76s, AJo, KJo
Can still continue with the 8.3% range I posted earlier. Maybe add in 77/T9s to continue with a 50% range again, but I suppose having some cold 4bets from the blinds helps a little.

ya that looks pretty spot on for my taste. if you look at guys like doug though im pretty sure he's opening like K6s+, J8s+ some lower scs, and all the weak offsuit broadways (plus 22-33 i think).

That seems insane, that's like a 27% range? Button/cutoff can each 3b 12-13% linear and punish it so badly.

I'm sure he plays it up for stream tho, who knows what actual ranges are and obv varies depending on the lineup.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60881.91
ETH 2721.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44