SOCIETY REACTION ON POKER AS JOB

in #poker7 years ago

What are the most common reactions when you tell someone from your social circle you are gambling for a living? This is another very interesting topic which by focus mixes 2 of my biggest life passions: Poker and sociology. Note on beginning of this blog; I have not yet found a study in field of sociology that strictly focuses on subject I write about but I did research some content on similar aspects to my story which can help. Considering that i will make a general sum up of my personal experience with people close to me and try to make few categories of reactions that are most common. )

1. POKER, HUH? YOU SHOULD STOP FOOLING AROUND

This type of response you will get from not very small sample of people (especially if you live in small town of a small European country) and is not so unexpected. Although this can vary from person to person it is common reaction you will get from older more conservative group of people who were always taught to take the 'safe road' and think only regular manual work is the real way to make living. Also this will be a response from people who seem uncertain about their life happiness so the only thing they promote is their vision of 'normal life' and somehow you have feeling as if you attacked their comfort zone when simply answering them what are you doing with your life.

2. POKER? WOW YOU MUST HAVE SUCH A COOL LIFE

In general, this is the answer you will get from younger people who are still ready to experiment and finding their place in this world. They are easily driven by idea this can be something easy and very spectacular and mostly they can get carried away and start dreaming about similar stuff with the idea: 'I know him for a long time, if he can do it i can do it easily too'. Soon enough they find out that poker= shiny, spectacular life is not the case and even more it's not even close to easy and chilling home clicking buttons. Those type of people are yet to find out nothing that actually brings you value is not easy on this planet ( little teaser for overhyped steemians as well:).

3. POKER? SOUNDS NICE, MUST BE NICE TO LIVE OF SOMETHING YOU LOVE

Not the most common response you will hear but the nicest you can get from another person. Most of answers that sound like that you will hear from people who know what they are doing with their life and are on successful path for many years. I don't say this just because they accept me playing poker but because i strongly believe this is attitude with which you should approach people and their lifestyles in general. After all, we live in 21st century and people do most various stuff in their everyday's life. For me personally it is the type of mindset i want to have and share with others and obviously it is type of people i want to have in my social circle as much as possible.

Obviously my categories were made from my experience and i try to make ideal type way of categorization for this topic. No answer was literal to any of groups but they all fall more or less into specific group.

 Hope someone finds it interesting, Enes :)

Original image source: http://www.bankrollmob.com/poker-news/2011511/worst-bad-beat-wsop-history

Sort:  

people are instantly like that's not for me

That is the most common answer you will hear, i agree. When they say so I say you haven't even tried but alright if you say it's not for you it's not. Thing that bothers me more if they start giving me lecture on how life should really look like and it mostly goes in direction: Live like me and normal people do :)

Very similar for betting on sports for a living, or racing. I get people tell me that I'm "Living The Dream" but when you're grinding it's far from being all beer and roses. It stops being fun after a while.

Like any life activity key is finding balance and incorporate it in your lifestyle the best you can, sometimes easier said than done.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56160.19
ETH 2367.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31