[Blog] Poker Beyond Gambling entry 4. My poker graph almost look like the Steem graph!

in #poker7 years ago (edited)

A little overdue, but here is the 4th entry on my poker blog and this time with good news!

steem32.png

As the picture show it is a positive graph with a small stagnation at the end. Almost like Steem! And we all know what happens from here! :D

The green line represents the amount of big blinds I have actually won.
The orange line represents the amount of big blinds I could have won, if the exact value of all in hands was realized.
The red line represents the amount of big blinds I have won without showdown (hands are not shown before the pot is won).
The blue line represents the amount of big blinds I have won with showdown (hands are shown before the pot is won).

steem31.png

I changed game format and now everything is running much more smoothly!
After struggling finding time for playing poker I mananged to get a couple of hours in. And things are starting to clear up on the poker forecast.

In cash game in poker it is common wisdom to analyse ones game out from numbers drawn from a database that holds the data of played hands. The handhistories. This is also true for tournament poker, but in my opinion much more so true when it comes to cash game.

A database program can be tried out for free, but useally require a payment to unlock fully. A program as holdemmanager enables us to easily access visualization such as the graph (the first image), or hard numbers such as the second image, based on how "we" played.

As the statistics show I managed to make 14.4 big blinds (bb/100) each 100 hands I played. My expected big blinds won out of 100 hands, given the sample of hands I played, was through the roof and landed at 30.3 for my "first"1409 hands of cash game.
This equals out to be (1409/100)*30.3 or 426 big blinds total.

One buyin is commonly regarded as 100 big blinds.

Sadly 1409 hands in the game of poker is next to nothing, so I will have to keep playing my best and don't take the good start for anything near sustainable.

Many other numbers such as my hands played per minutes or hour can be extracted or even my $/hour. Right now I am playing micro stakes, so the actual $ won is not that mind blowing.

I decided to change game format from MTTSNGS (multitable tournaments sit and goes) to cash game, as cash games allow me to leave the tables when needed. Besides the extra dollars it feels like a good decision to change from tournament poker to cash game poker. Tournament poker and cash poker are two very different formats of poker and require different strategies. Learning a new kind of poker than I am used to, made the game a hole lot more interesting to me again. Hopefully this also mean that I will start invest some more time into studying and playing the game of poker again.

Discharge of chores
Instead of making goals and challenges that I will feel bad about for not completing or getting anywhere near reaching, I will keep focus on getting better and improve my game naturally and have some fun meanwhile.

I will still keep this blog going and update it everynow and then, adding in some sweet tips, guides and what not. And of course use it to learn more about steemit.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64319.13
ETH 3411.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51