Steemit Poker League #1 - I won it and I want to share with you some professional analysis

in #poker7 years ago

U5drTEo2eaEKQ4v27GRmEindRtFNu9v_1680x8400.png

Hey guys,

So I decided to talk about the first tournament of Steemit Poker League, organised by @tuck-fheman. He posted about it some days ago https://steemit.com/poker/@tuck-fheman/steemit-poker-league-6-21-200-sbd-freeroll-results-and-final-table

Fortunately I end up winning the tournament, so I decided to share some professional thoughts about it.

znhhl1au0oyynz7sn7ud.jpg

So it has a NLHE 6-max turbo structure, Tuck and more 3 guys started in my table, so we were 5-handed but 2 guys were sitting out turning the game into a 3-handed effective. Tuck was playing insanely tight and the other guy who I don't recall the name (sorry) was playing almost 95% of hands so I had to widen up to combat him. No big deal as Head's Up is my currently main game. We started to battle and steal blinds from Tuck and the 2 sitting out guys. So after some time I got AA and knew that one of them could play me back as I was playing super agressive, so I'm UTG and I open raise, Tuck on the button 3bets me small with less than 20 big blinds, so my image was a crazy man and he was playing super tight so I thought that he would never fold to a reraise, so no point to flat and trap him, I shoved all-in and he calls and shows AJ, gg Tuck. I don't like the 3bet non All-in there as you'll end up missing a lot of flops and could make some mistakes there. I'd just 3bet shove all-in there with less than 20bb.

So next table, I was bullying the table again and had some luck on this hand, 10 8 of clubs, so I'm on the button with 14 big blinds. The small blind was sitting out so I could do a couple of things there. The big blind guy wasn't super agressive so min raising and folding if he goes all-in is more profitable than just open shoving. I do minraise and he clicks raise button back. So he gave me a gazillion % pot odds to call and see the flop, so I called. Flop is 873 and I have a pot bet left so I'm never folding there, he bets and I shove the rest. He had JJ but luckly an 8 comes on the turn.

Starting stacks were 3k so at semi-final table I had like 22k or something, just using my knowledge and winning a lot of post flop pots and some standard all-in situations.

In Tuck's post there's a video of the final table so watch if you want.
People were doing crazy stuff like raising 10bb and folding to a 23bb shove, and killing each other in bloated pre-flop pots, a lot of mistakes and spewy plays, so I was there dodging them and climbing up the payout ladder, I got under 15bb and mostly played a solid push-or-fold game until reach Head's up. @theewoolf who is also a professional had like a 8:1 chip lead on me and I knew I had to run good to win. I had 7bb and got completely card dead for the next 5 hands. At this point I had 4 bb and got dealt Q7, standard shove no matter what he does in the hand, it's profitable to get it in with that stack size. So I manage to win the all-in and with 8bb I'm super confortable playing as I play the hyper turbo structure on PokerStars. Next hand is AA , he open shoves T9o and double me up. Now I get KTo with 11bb and usually best ev play here vs a good player is limp and call whatever he bets, even all-in. He does shove the 33, we flip and I win this one. Last hand is a Q4 with 5bb effective, clear shove, any Q is a shove there, I jam he calls and I manage to win vs KT to win the tournament.

So you have to play good and had a little bit of lucky to win these turbo structure tournaments.
I hope you guys liked it, see you tomorrow in the next tourney!

Bye bye

Sort:  

Great this return, I wanted to participate but I arrived too late. I will follow you because I like the news of steemit and your articles are well. Good job

Thanks bud!
Following you back!
Cheers

Congratulations @brnofre! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Hazards of running a tourney while playing. :)

I will dedicate more attention to you this time, but at glances you did look like a bad reg. ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67144.34
ETH 3517.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69