Deep run in The Big $4,4. Part 1

in #poker7 years ago (edited)

I made a deep run in The Big $4,4 yesterday. I will post some hands in this article and the one which got fatal.
Big $4,4 > Entries: 2885
First place: $1,558
In the money: 512 players.

Screen Shot 2017-07-26 at 13.02.36.png

On the flop, I check back for pot control. I most certainly have the best hands but almost no weaker hand will calll.
On the turn, clear value bet. Weaker aces, pocketpairs and draws can call.
On the river, I decide the check-back. Which weaker hands are actually calling? 9x beats me, flushes beat me. I split the pot with weaker Ax because of the J on the river. Final hand: Two pair 9s and AA with a J kicker.


()

In this hand I actually made a mistake. Shoving is not the best play. Villian had a 12% 3bet percentage over #120 hands but this hand is too good to use as a bluff and too bad to use a value 4bet. Calling would have been the better play. If you don't understand the reasoning behind this, ask in the comments. I won the hand tho, villian makes a weak call with A10s and I take this one down. $16,624 Stack!


I win some simple pots with KK and QQ and I'm up to $26,712!

Screen Shot 2017-07-26 at 13.12.52.png

Pre-flop, I decide to just call. I have to many big blinds to shove it in with 77 and I can profitably set mine with the equity 77 has vs villains range.
Flop: A set! I check it over to the pre-flop agressor and he checks it back.
Turn: 6s. What hands can villain have? Total crap like off-suit broadway cards, but also some pocket pairs or straight draws. I decide to lead for half pot to target these hands. Villain calls.
River: Qc. The first instinct is to bet again, but what do you accomplish with betting? Villain is folding 88-JJ and shouldn't have many Qx or Ax in his range. Its probably a missed draw, a set of 6s or a flush/straight which he played passively on the flop. I decide to check call, this gives villain a change to bluff. I call and he shows up with a set of 6s. Up to $43,771!

Follow for Part 2 and goodluck grinding!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 56519.24
ETH 2991.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.16