Pokemon Go: Initial experiences with new Gen3, Dynamic Weather, Looking how weather affects IVs

in #pokemongo6 years ago

Niantic has updated Pokemon Go to release 50 new Gen 3 pokemon into the game, as well as add a new dynamic weather system. Yesterday was my first fill day trying it out and these are my impressions so far.

I went on my typical long early morning pokewalk and managed to catch 7 of the new pokemon: Poochyena, Makuhita, Mudkip, Wurmple, Mawile, Mightyena, and Gulpin.

AllGen3Catches.jpg

I got the Mawile as the bonus challenge for beating it as a level 2 raid boss. Obviously I'm eager to see all the new content in the game, but I'm hoping I can savor it for a while so I'm actually pretty content with not seeing everything on my first day hunting. I always get a little thrill when I see the silhouette of a pokemon I've never seen before show up in the Nearby indicator. I also think it's smart that Niantic is releasing Gen 3 in chunks, first with the spooky pokemon for Halloween and now another 50, with more still to come.

NewContent.jpg

It was pretty cold here in Eugene, OR when I was out for my walk, several degrees below freezing. I have these gloves that convert between mittens and fingerless gloves that I use for playing the game in cold weather. They're a bit of a hassle to deal with but they mostly get the job done.

gloves - convert.JPG

But an aspect of the weather that's much more interesting than the temperature is that Niantic has now updated Pokemon Go to dynamically track the weather and give you different bonuses depending on the type of Pokemon you're interacting with. For the early part of my walk the weather was foggy, while it switched to cloudy later on. You get 25 extra stardust for catching a pokemon of the appropriate type for the weather, moves of those type are more powerful in battle, more of those type of pokemon spawn than usual, and the ones that do spawn tend to have better IVs. (The hazardous weather referred to in the screenshot is an Air Stangnation Advisory in my area).

weather.jpg

Because Poochyena seems to be relatively common and I caught a bunch of them during the foggy weather I was able to get a sense of how much better the weather-boosted IVs are than usual:

IVDistribution.jpg

While that's not a huge sample size, it seems to be skewed enough in the positive direction from the IV distribution you'd normally encounter in the game that it's pretty impressive. It's not exactly like egg-hatches or raid bosses because I still got some that “may not be great in battle” or are just “decent” according my my Team Valor appraisal results, but it's still pretty good. Based on first impressions I think I'm going to really like the weather system. It will be like there's a constant mini-event going on, you'll have reason to be excited to see particular pokemon spawn, even after the novelty of the new generation launch wears off.

Sort:  

I bounced off PoGo--for no reason I could articulate beyond "I have more social investment in Ingress"--but this sounds pretty cool! I can just imagine dashing out into a rainstorm because Water types don't normally spawn in your neighborhood, that sort of thing.

I wish I had had this picture available yesterday when I wrote the post, but I only caught it this morning: a Grovyle near a drive-thru coffee place that has a logo that looks a lot like the Steem logo:
gen3 - grovyle - SteemLogo.PNG

the inital hype this game created is dead only a handful of people still plays this game

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @danmaruschak to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64222.08
ETH 3135.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99