Dollar Tree Pokemon 3 Card Dollar Packs and ToyCard Speculation Sneak Peak

in #pokemon6 years ago


Dollar Tree Pokemon 3 Card Dollar Packs

My local Family Dollar has added a Dollar Tree section and now carries Pokemon 3 card $1 packs. Since I go to Family Dollar a couple times a week it has been easy for me to pick up a pack or two (or 10 lol) each time.

The 3 card packs are very hit or miss but I'm fairly good at judging the weight of the packs from nearly 40 years of buying and selling cards of all kinds. No I don't take a digital scale and weight the packs - I don't condone that behavior, I just hold them in my hands.

Right now they have Steam Siege, Roaring Skies, Sun & Moon Forbidden Light and XY Evolutions. It has really been fun ripping these packs open to find the wonderful cards inside. I think the last packs of Pokemon I opened was Fossil - dang it has been a long time.

The following cards are all rares.

DSCN0338.JPG

The Mega Latios EX has to be my favorite card, not sure why but I think it's the artwork. Cards with great artwork always are high on my list.

DSCN0339.JPG

The Poliwrath and Nidoking are holos the other 3 are reverse holos. Honestly I like the reverse holo's better, they just shine more and you can never get enough shine.

DSCN0340.JPG

The last 5 are just plain old regular boring holos. They just can't compete with all the shine of the others.

.............................................................

I want to share a little info on a new project I'm starting called ToyCard Speculation. First a little background.

I started buying cards in the late 70's and by the late 80's was trying my hand at mail order card sales. Then along came eBay. I've been selling on eBay since 1999 and owned a retail 2nd hand shop from 2008 to 2014. I also did consignments and sold my own cards/toys. After closing I still do eBay and consignments but really scaled back in volume. I really miss all the excitement and really want to scale back up.

So I've come up with ToyCard Speculation. Its sort of a cross between consignment, buying/selling and crowdfunding speculation. I'm still working on the details so nothing is written in stone yet.

The consignment and buying/selling part is just that and really doesn't need to be explained. The crowdfunding part does though. The crowdfunding speculation is basically buying as a group - I'll use Steem Monsters as an example. In order to get a good pull of gold cards you need to buy many packs. We all don't have the money to buy 100+ packs but as a group it would be possible. Still lots of details but it will be next month (late) before I'm ready to roll out the whole thing.

Please let me know what you think in the comments as input is always welcome.

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by mytoyvault from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64555.14
ETH 3086.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85