Why Pokemon Go sucks.

in #pokemon-go8 years ago

Note: If you don't know anything about Pokemon Go yet, you should definitively check it out.

We all know there's no way to overlook the current hype surrounding Pokemon Go, the newest game out of the Pokemon franchise. Millions of people are wandering around their neighborhood, fanatically staring at their phones. I do aswell, but I still believe two things: Pokemon Go is not a good game and it will fail drastically over the next few months.

Pokemon Go is not a good game.

This kind of game using the GPS of modern phones is not new at all. My first encounter with this "genre" was when I bought my first android phone, around 2012-2013. There was a game called "Zombies, Run", which had basically the same features as Pokemon Go, but including zombies. Later, a game called "Turf Wars", the same principle again, this time in a mafia kind of setting. And last but not least, "Ingress", the game also made by Niantic Labs, which took about 6 years to develop. These are only the games I personally got in contact with, and it hasn't been my favourite genre at all, so there sure are a few more games.

The other "new feature" in Pokemon Go is the so called "Augmented Reality", and it sucks. Games like the upcoming father.io have implemented this way better, and I don't know of anybody who actually uses the augmented reality in Pokemon Go, since it doesn't bring any advantage.

Pokemon Go is just downstripped version of previous, better games.

Pokemon Go will drastically fail over the next months.

So what makes people play this game even though there are better ones out there? Why would somebody run around for hours each day and spend his hard earned money for the ingame shop? Well, the answer is easy, and we all know it: The hype. There is a huge hype around this, and It's literally the only reason this game is played. Everyone is comparing his own pokemons to the ones of his friend and battling the gyms.
But we all know a hype is not forever. No game can be hyped forever, and this is what's gonna happen slowly but steadily:
There will be less people playing every day. You'll meet less people at the currently crowded pokestops and gyms, and at some point, you'll be the weirdo for running around with your phone and catching strange creatures all day. The user count will decrease, and at the end there will be a small hardcore fragment of players left.

Further, if they don't get the server problems under control, all this will happen even faster as people will move on. And last but not least, the game is way to small, and it will be to late for the new announced features.

Note: This was my first post on here, and I hope you like it. Please give me feedback on what I should improve about my writing style etc. Many thanks!

Sort:  

I find it pretty scary to see people chasing pokemon on their phone.

I see more people doing that than demonstrating when something really fucked up happens in politics.
This planet is definetely going places.

Hype is like a rollercoaster. It takes you up, but you going back down and will balance out. Nintendo's stock shot up to $37 on the news of what they call "augmented reality" (Yeah and the Virtual Boy was VR).

It was common knowledge they only owned about a third of it but once spelled out that sent the stock back down a bit.

I understand people live with their face in their cellphones but how many people truly convert actual currency to game currency? Enough I'm sure but that level of insanity carries extreme fickleness. I would call Pokemon Go fashion futures. Black is out, green is in. So spoketh a Mt top.

It's got people walking so I don't hate it. You'll never convince me it's not over hyped. They could randomly assign a Pokemon to every tree in the world and the only logical conclusion to draw would be whats that doofus's deal with that tree?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65733.39
ETH 3506.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51