SPU Poetry Contest #5: Enclosed Reality

in #poetsunited6 years ago

image

CCO Creative Commons image by Pixabay


Enclosed Reality

I am a prisoner, held up in a false world.
Chained, I chained myself to this reality.
Refusing to leave this made-up world.
Enclosed in my own thought.

The real world is too cliched.
I rather be here, a make believed reality.
A perfect place for myself only.
A king reigning over this enclosed world.

I am a runaway, away from despair.
My only thought is escape, escape from
the place that shunned the real me.
Escaping to this enclosed reality

This is my domain, my fortress
The only world I want to stay.
So what if it's a lie?
It is still better than the bitter reality.

Yet, cracks appears on my perfect world.
Allowing a glance to the world, I wish not to see.
A hand appears, pulling me back to reality.
Shattering the false conviction hiding in me.

Heart unwilling, full of uncertainty.
I cannot hide, I can only return.
I must accept that truth hurts.
I must break, the chain that binds me.
An escape from this enclosed reality.


"Enclosed Reality", this poem is different from the motivational poem I usually make. The majority of the poem is an image of escapism, only in the end did it turn somewhat positive.

The inspiration for this is the poem; "An Alternate Reality" by @poetrybyjeremy. I took inspiration from the word "enclosed" and it's overall theme. I also highly suggest that everyone give his poems a go.

This is it for now. I hope everyone liked the poem. Until next time.


image

Sort:  

Great job! I really like the turn at the end :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62795.57
ETH 2581.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74