SPU Poetry Contest #1: Unravel the cord

in #poetsunited7 years ago (edited)

vania-zouravliov 2.jpg
(Image credit vania zouravliov)

The premise of the contest is to either take inspiration or use a fragment of 3 given poems. I chose the following fragment that was offered from the poem LOST, by @lymepoet.
the fragment was the following :
if I only had a match to light
and see where I am now
wrong side of heaven
or righteous
depth of
hell?

I usually do not rhyme but this is my second rhyming poem of this month Steemit does very strange things to me. So here is what I did with the fragment. -Enjoy!

Zouravliov-Baba_Yaga.jpg
(Image credit vania zouravliov)

If I only had a match to light
and see where I am now
If only dreams had survived night
the plant survived the plow

Had our words been truthful still
our fate had better been
Had intention formed it’s will
tomorrow we had seen

The stench of foul trickery hides beneath features shaven
The willies dance, fat lady sings from the wrong side of heaven
In in incantation future lies, in casting of the spell
Will karma give us paradise or righteous depth of hell

vania-zouravliov-06.jpg
(Image credit vania zouravliov)

Sort:  

Wow

Will karma give us paradise or righteous depth of hell

Thanks for participating !

Thank you for reading :)

Congratulations @tygertyger! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes
You published 4 posts in one day

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

This was a pleasant read. There were dreams that have not survived. Then, I like how the protagonists take agency - they admit to have done something wrong, either through bad intentions or otherwise, but it screwed their fate. There is something twisted behind this that I like. In the end, it all lies in karmas hands, and the protagonists admit that they have done wrongdoings - so, we do not know if they will end in paradise or hell.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 64871.83
ETH 2536.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67