The Wisdom Of An Old Man

in #poetsunited6 years ago (edited)

This poem was published yesterday at hubpages.com by me @stbrians

human-613601__480.jpg
Pixabay

The old man stared fixedly at me as he adjusted his robe.

His eyes gazed deep into my soul as if in a heavy probe.

My eyes involuntarily dropped as the stare did my confidence rob.

Heavily my heart in my ribcage did like an earthquake throb.

My trembling prevented the escape of my suppressed sob.

The old man cleared his throat.

arabs-618308__480.jpg
Pixabay

One thing only is given to all equally.

Light may be equal but in some shines dismally.

Air may be the same but some areas is partially.

Yet time to all is given equally.

some use it specially.

Others use it carelessly.

And life goes on continually.

old-man-1145469__480.jpg
Pixabay

The old man filled his pipe.

His hand flew and killed a fly in one swipe.

Never in life did I meet a person of his type.

He waited for a moment to become ripe.

Then from his eyes a tear he did wipe.

Managing your time well is success.

A poor manager failure after failure he faces.

Your management may make one a wreck and in a mess.

Another is full of success with no remorse.

What one confesses is what they possess.

*******,**************************

people-1550501__480.jpg
Pixabay

Then followed deep silence.

The silence was such an offence.

Granddad left no defence.

I was left hanging on a fence.

Yet he slept and there was no end or commence.

I cried bitterly.

Time and tide waits for no man.

It neither spares a woman.

Days may be short and nights long in a lifespan,

Yet time is equal in moon or sun.

Don't laze or be on the run.

Use the time as well as you can.

The link to the poem.
https://hubpages.com/literature/Nobody-Told-Me-We-Had-Equal-Amount

Sort:  

As a follower of @followforupvotes this post has been randomly selected and upvoted! Enjoy your upvote and have a great day!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63857.77
ETH 3117.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87