SPU Poetry Contest #1: "Poets"

in #poetsunited6 years ago (edited)

 

I wrote this poem for a Poetry Contest sponsored by PoetsUnited. 

I was particularly motivated to submit an entry to try to stop that bloody @poetrybyjeremy from winning any more poetry contests. That guy is taking over Steemit! While that may sound hyperbolic, I might remind you that he lives in a Crusader Castle in Malta! Make no mistake, he's been groomed from childhood for conquest and world domination. We must stop him now while there's still time! :-)

My writing prompt was an extract from a poem, "Lost" by the illustrious @lymepoet

Note: My poem, "Poets," is specifically NOT biographical (directed towards her) - her poem simply gave me something with which to work ... beautiful language. 

if I only had a match to lit 
and see where I am now 
wrong side of heaven
or righteous
 depth of
 hell? 


Sort:  

I enjoyed reading the poem. There is an ease to it, its structure and rhythm are well though out. I would suggest having a larger picture or including the poem as text as well, as it can be very difficulty to read the text. I do enjoy the theme - we tend to obsess with all-or-nothing, with this duality, where the Golden Mean is the virtue. Guess us poets are not as fascinated by virtues; we are obsessed with vices.

@poetrybyjeremy,

I thought everyone could zoom-in to enlarge? No? I can't on my laptop (it's a high-end 1987 model), but my daughter can on hers. Folks out there, let me know if you can't enlarge either. If most people can't, I've got some serious re-formatting to do. (Of course ... all this could be another of Crusader-connivance designed to throw me off my game.)

Respecting your remarks about duality, you're dead on. The problem with poetry is the problem with politics ... only the extremes have a voice. You never hear political moderates (at least 80% of the population) reciting poems about their bloody tampons on National TV, do you? (Yuck ... too much information. I'll bet if I wrote a poem about the skidmarks on my underwear, you'd all gag ... but that's because I'm a moderate - and, of me, some measure of sanity is expected.)

But here's the thing: Almost all of life is lived between the extremes. Revolutions are bloody, and bloody expensive, using every metric of the measures of misery. "Break it if it's not broken" has never lead to anything but chaos and anarchy.

Aristotle riffed about this 2,500 years ago. We call his writings on the subject, "Virtue Ethics." Of all the philosophical schools-of-thought that have come and gone since, I have yet to come across anything more reflective of reality.

A small number of people in the world are gifted with the ability to articulate words. More precisely, they possess a natural instinct about how to use meter, rhythm and rhyme (how it's said) to magnify their ideas, ideals and insights (what is said). It's an awesome power when used wisely, an awful power, when not.

Whenever you, as a poet, embark upon a poem "To Change the World:" Ask not, just what you are building; ask too, what you are breaking. Nothing in life is free. For every action, there's an equal and opposite reaction. Your dream ... is someone else's nightmare.

Words are weapons. Use them wisely.

@poetsunited @angelveselinov @lymepoet @simgirl @old-guy-photos @coff33a @cryptogee

I LOVE IT! Not because you chose my poem as a prompt, but for its essence, its structure and rhythm. Not to mention that it also rolls out as a song.
While reading it, I pictured the court's poet singing the king's agenda. Maybe the photo with the crusaders had something to do with that. It reminded me of culture and civilization classes I took years back.
To wrap it up, I really like your poetry (yes, I did read some of your other poems) and your brand and signature. What more appropriate than a quill for a signature? I'm impressed!

As for your motivation to submit this poem, you crack me up. I had tears in my eyes. 😂😂😂 "Crusader Castle in Malta ", so original! 😄

@lymepoet,

The Crusader Castle in Malta is not a joke. Ask him.

I LOVE IT! Not because you chose my poem as a prompt, but for its essence, its structure and rhythm. Not to mention that it also rolls out as a song.

Well, what are you waiting for woman? Start singing!

I'm glad, and relieved, that you liked it. I was afraid that I might have irreparably screwed up the meaning you attach to it. As we've discussed, I'm well aware of what you're dealing with respecting those damn spirochetes, and I didn't want to appear to be making light of it. Anyway, if you singing, I guess I'm in the clear.

We'll talk again soon.

I loved your poem. Those poets twist everything don't they!

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 57110.78
ETH 2521.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32