The Whips of Reality

in #poetsunited6 years ago

download (1).jpg
Source: Twitter

At the roadside with hands stretched out
Hoping for a free ride up south
With luggage and loads packed shabbily
A son of a king dressed slavishly

For I wish to go home
I’m a long way away and it doesn’t feel right in my bones
It’s been a decade since I decided to stand up to the world all alone
I give up, for I cannot survive the whips of reality anymore, not for long

My journey away from home, my comforting haven
More painful than Satan’s banishment from heaven
The dream was to explore as a prince not as a raven
But I got ripped off all chances and comfort taken

The world is a complicated place
You can only settle down in haste
Even when you stand up to take the blows to your face
You courage would be mocked as you land back to the base

Now I’m on a journey back to comfort
For I’m a wide dreamer, but the struggling is not my forte
If this journey can be a little bit faster, I will gladly accept the ride of a catapult
To get home and say to my father, you are right, it’s my fault.

Summary

Many times we seek to find greener pastures away from our place of comfort, while we plan for this, we should also plan with caution because the world is bigger than you think. This poem is about a young man lost in the world and planning to trace his steps back home because he has failed woefully in the struggles of the world, this was as a result of him not staying back home to fully prepare and gain more experience from his father. Spending ten (10) fruitless years, he realizes that the fault was his; he should have stayed back for adequate planning. Like Richard Bandler words

Disappointments requires adequate planning
quote-disappointment-requires-adequate-planning-richard-bandler-54-76-14.jpg
Source: AZ Quotes

The young man seeks to go back to start from the scratch. This time for sure, he will be planning well.

Sort:  

'I give up, for I cannot survive the whips of reality anymore, not for long' 👏 great work. Keep it up (:

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64504.36
ETH 3414.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51