SPU Poetry Contest #5: Captivity

in #poetsunited7 years ago

All That Is Gold Does Not Glitter,
Not All Those Who Wander Are Lost
-Tolkien


For SPU Poetry Contest #5, I was greatly inspired by the following quote from Option A, which are lines from An Alternate Reality by @poetrybyjeremy:

Enclosed within cool walls of concrete

through the only window, I peak,

grey skies crash above

flooding a valley so bleak.

The strikingly vivid imagery that these wonderful lines evoke are so emotionally charged I almost had a physical reaction to reading them. I was instantly transported to a dingy, dark prison cell and from there, my poem began to take it's form. Here is my humble submission based on the inspiration provided by the prompt.


Image Source


Captivity

You may be the master of my body,
You control the physical reality.
My mind will be for me alone,
To span the planes for eternity!

Stark enclosures tower over.
Captive , my dreams are for me.
Iron and steel containing,
Solely longing to be free.

Wretched souls calling out,
Falling, falling on deaf ears.
Solitude in wet darkness,
Vivid magnifying hidden fears.

The chains rattle their sad song,s
Drowning the birds’ joyous cries.
Rusty pain envelopes the soul,
As we finally face our putrid lies.

Death ushers sweetest relief
From battered, bruised body and soul.
Hurry, Hurry build my gallows!
I long to hear the death bell toll!



Appreciator Footer.png

Animated Banner Created By @zord189

Sort:  

Beautiful poem

Thank you so much for taking the time to comment and for the compliment. It is greatly apprecaited.

Damn... Nice...Great work!

Thanks, I really appreciate the feedback and support!

Intelligent and thoughtful poem, thank you for bringing it to my attention!

As a friendly reminder, the upvote fee is $0.05 SBD ($0.051 for incognito). Current 300%+ upvote is now $0.15+ SBD.

That being said…

BOOOOOOOOOM!!!

The ground shakes as incredible power lights the sky. The thunder tests the quality of your post and deems it worthy, rewarding it with a 300% upvote, comment and resteem from @thundercurator.

Increase your chances of a 100% upvote and support the project by:

Investors who delegate SP to @thundercurator are entitled to 75% of @thundercurator income after curation. Get on-board early and grow with us!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63493.34
ETH 2578.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79