SPU POETRY CONTEST#5: AT A BATTLEFIELD CEMETERY

in #poetsunited7 years ago (edited)

cemetery-999955_960_720.jpg
pixabay

Grey skies crashed and wept
Flooding a valley where acres and acres
Of the fallen lay,
Now only forgotten names,
Etched on cold white stone.

I could not stand among
Those sleeping men
But fell, crushed beneath
The burden of our insanity.

My soul groaned
As I held their hearts in my hands,
And sobbing, I cried,
"Oh God, Oh God,
How can we do this to each other?
Will there ever be an end to war?"

My spirit rose up and passed
Like a lone raven
Winging through endless ranks
Into a blood colored sunset,
Slipping into the night.

sunset-3248163__340.jpg

Sort:  

Hi @mistermercury.
Hoe gaat het?

In my most recent article I added a link to this poem as it completes the article that I wrote.

Go ahead and provide a link would you? I'm doing good. Going to work hard on Steemit this week. Cool that my poem fits well. Thanks for including it.

Hi @mistermercury

I like it. Have you studied/seen "The Gods of the Copybook Headings" before?

No. But it sounds like something I rrrealy need.

I think you'll like it!

It is a poem by Rudyard Kipling read by Glenn Beck and I first heard it in this video.

Second video he explained it a bit better.

I'm sure there's even better explanations out there. Let me know what you think.

Endless war pains my soul. I support the troops in our military, but not the wars the US govt sends them into. Everything is ass backwards in this world today. Time for a correction dont ya think?

Yes, it makes no difference who the POTSUS is, they dance as directed. I had hope that Trump would de-escalate the situation in Syria with Russia, but new propaganda against them coming out and the appointment of John Bolton (hawk) to national security advisor along with the uptick in military spending all indicate He, too, is dancing to the tune of war.

I held out some hope for Trump in the beginning, but I wont fall for that again. It really doesnt matter who the POTUS is, you are so right. Repub or Demoncrat? Makes no damn difference. The wars continue no matter which party is in at the moment.

Hey, thanks for stopping by. Quiet as a cemetery here. Yeah, terribly disappointed in the Donald. But, on the other hand, pretty much expected it. I guess the only difference is that had Hillary won we'd already be in a war with Russia. I keep waiting to see if perhaps Trump is smarter than it appears, he is playing a wickedly dangerous chess game with those who are in the dark shadows. Blessings.

Well, thanks. This did actually happen to me. Well not the raven flying into the night! But I went to the cemetery for the Battle of the Bulge and OMG I was overcome with sorrow and pain in my soul. Seems like we are bent on self destruction.

Congratulations @mistermercury! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!