SPU Poetry contest #2: Addict

in #poetsunited6 years ago

ADDICT
I am the proud addict to a very uncommon drug called heartbreak
Because there is simply no reasonable explanation for my prolonged saddened state

images (9).jpeg
You see to all the girls that love and care for me I pay no attention
But I thoroughly adore the forbidden and so I attempt to reach far above my station

I am firmly addicted to pain and suffering
Cause there's no better way to describe all the emptiness I feel
And when I don't pretend to be joking
I pretend to be fine and lie saying everything's okay
I laugh at meaningless jokes, dance around and play

images (6).jpeg
Although I know it's not healthy to keep things bottled up inside
That's the only way to keep the one I love happy and not drown her in my sorrows tide

images (5).jpeg
I mean what did I truly expect would come out of this life's folly
To foolishly spend my time believing that at some point in life I'll be happy

So off I go again, another day to pretend
To smile while I die inside is how I contend
But I'll never again beg for love or to be loved or even show emotion
People dot need to see how they hurt me and that my soul is broken

images (8).jpeg
I am the proud addict of an uncommon drug called heartbreak
Cause there is simply no reasonable explanation for my profound saddened state

images (7).jpeg
One of my very first post on steemit was a very short poem I wrote called addiction. Here's the link in case you read addict and want to know what inspired me to come up with it https://steemit.com/poetry/@jayo/addiction...
Anyway this piece addict was written in response to @poetrybyjeremy contest hopefully you guys like it... If you do don't forget to comment would love to hear your feedback...

Sort:  

This was an interesting take on heartbreak/addiction. I wouldn't say heartbreak is an uncommon drug, unfortunately.

I did love this part the most:

Although I know it's not healthy to keep things bottled up inside
That's the only way to keep the one I love happy and not drown her in my sorrows tide

I recommend not overloading with pictures as it can distract the flow of reading, other than that, good job :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 63049.68
ETH 3022.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50