Poetry Slam Challenge #2: (Containment)

in #poetryslamtwo8 years ago (edited)

CONTAINMENT

I presented to the hospital,
For too long now I'd been ill.

The doors of glass they opened wide,
Sheepishly I stepped inside.

I told them I was not quite right,
Maybe I could spend the night.

I had been feeling sad and blue,
Perhaps someone could help me through.

I waited hours to see someone,
Then finally it seemed I won.

My name was called and I went in,
I know now that I did not win.

I answered questions honestly,
I wanted help so eagerly.

They locked me in there for three weeks,
Of what I saw I'll never speak.

Containment is not what we need,
The empty soul it does not feed.

My heart it longed for nourishment,
Not solitary confinement.

I gained no healing locked up tight,
They stole my dignity in the night.

Keep me safe til I am whole,
I left there like a wounded foal.

Safe from harming self and other,
My freedom forfeit for my brothers.


Original Poem and Sketch by @girlbeforemirror

Sort:  

Awesome.. Nice work...

Cheers. Have you written yours yet? I'm looking forward to it. You underestimate yourself.

Not yet sadly.. :(
I've seen the entries and they all are super awesome.. I guess I wont stand a chance against them.. But I'll write for fun.. I'm still working on it tho.. I'll write soon.. :)

I don't anticipate winning either. Just enjoying being a little bit creative. x

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 60185.13
ETH 3290.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44