Poetry Slam Challenge 5: From Liquor to Vicar [ORIGINAL]

in #poetryslamchallenge8 years ago (edited)

Thank you to @prufarchy @serejandmyself and @timsaid for creating, funding, and posting these Poetry Slam Challenges. The contests are more than just fun. They build the Steemit community, they turn dusty gears in the brain, and they bring people together, reading each other's work! Beyond that, these poetry challenges have given me an idea... I'd like to go into nursing or retirement homes and start poetry challenges there. These are such great mental exercises and they would benefit older people so much. (Including me, I'll turn 50 this year!)

Anyway, the limerick challenge got me really excited for a few reasons. My maiden name is McPeak. My ancestors are Irish (and Scottish), I play the violin (fiddle), and it's possible that verse is encoded in my DNA. I sometimes think in verse! So, here's my poetry slam entry. This is my own original work. I don't know if limericks usually have titles, but I gave one to mine.

From Liquor to Vicar

There once was a barkeep quite sinister
When he wanted a girl he just Guinessed her
But the women he smirched
Got converted and churched
So he changed his vocation to minister

Sort:  

Hi @geke,
A funny poem wrapped into tricky assonance rhyming.
I think poetry challenge is a great idea for people who write poetry. Unfortunately, I am not one of those. I write short stories and would be very glad if there would be a Steemit short story challenge as well. I used to participate with the yahoo writing group that offered an ongoing challenge like this. The site owner was giving a title once a month and the entire group wrote a story on this title. Then when submissions were posted and before the panel of judges determined, which story is the winner, this time, all the participants could post their comments/critique. That was both fun and frustrating at times. In Steemit context, would definitely generate an original content. Not sure whom I should communicate this idea. Do you know?
Cheers

Well, I would suggest that you start that challenge! That's how the poetry challenge started, just someone decided to do it. However, if you'd like advice or help I'm sure @prufarchy would be a valuable resource. I'm also willing to help if I can. I write some fiction, so I'd be happy to join in if this contest gets started. I'm sure it would become popular!

Thanks. I wrote to @prufarchy Let's see what he will answer. I am not such a great organizer. Also, I think the challenge should be posted by someone who has more weight in the Steemit system. If I do this only very few people will notice. Plus, we need to implement somehow the voting mechanism. That is, every reader has to grade the story on the scale of 1 to 10. Then the scores for each story are averaged and the winner emerges. The winner can be given some symbolic icon. Something lika that.

Cheers

That is brilliant. I love the word play here. And amusing too.

Thank you :) I had another version, but I liked this one better. Here was the other one:

There once was a barkeep quite sinister
When he wanted a girl he just Guinessed her
But he tired of the sort
of a gal who drank port
So he changed his vocation to minister.

Thanks so much for the shout-out, this is what community is all about! I'm glad you find value in these exercises, that was part of the idea to launch this :) I also wanted to get to know everyone else in a fun way, and these challenges have made me followers and fans of so many talented people, including you!

Your limerick rocks, and I'm a fan of the alternate edit, too. I guess it does run in your blood haha.

Thanks for your entry, I look forward to some more maybe... since you think in verse ;)

I did come up with a few others, but they weren't really funny, didn't end with that little slap, you know? Here's one of them:

There once was a young man from Basingstoke
who was known for his negative-phrasing joke
He hurt many feelings
and lost a few dealings
He now finds his humor in praising folk

Meh.

Ah excellent stuff!!! These challenges are indeed excellent aren't they!! I love having a bit of focus like these on steemit!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60791.78
ETH 2917.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34