Poetry Slam Challenge 6 - Mental Excursion (Prose) @ethanjames as author.

in #poetryslamchallenge8 years ago (edited)

Here is my first entry into the sixth Poetry Slam Challenge (Sky's the Limit).
Please enjoy!


No bells in the steeple while the preacher gave a sermon

I dwell in the streets keep discrete with the vermin

Searching for a merchant, perplexed in a real life circus

I peered through the curtain, what I saw was disturbing

Submerged in blood a frail figured version of a person

Far worse was a surgeon. Blacked out features, face shrouded by a turban

No normal excursion but now I knew this for certain

I paced past a serpent with an urgent slurp of my bourbon

Slurin' I sat down at a desk. Not for a second to only catch a breath

The air was grotesque. This dark dank trench had the foul stench of death

I gazed into the depths. Staring back was a corpse with half a face left

It was hard to digest and the shock made my heart near beat through my chest

Voices spoke in my head. Hallucinations won't stop til you lay down to rest

How long since I slept? I wiped the sweat from my head and through the darkness I crept

This place continued playing instrumentals. The scene seemed resentful never staying gentle

I had to slay the devil he was so vengeful so I shaved up a pencil to penetrate his mental

I stared down at the mangled corpse of the beast and said "There ain't nothin' sweet".

I couldn't believe, suddenly I awoke in my sheets. Was this all just one twisted dream?

It was all obscene, know what I mean?


Thanks for reading guys. If you like it, show some of that love.

Image credit to google.

Sort:  

Great rhymes and flow, upvoted, I'm about to check out new challenge didn't realize there was new one!

Cheers man. Yeah they seem to be dropping them more often now.

I was hearing all kinds of pun, biggie, and others. It seemed much more east coast usa to me than west coast, even southern but I know it's Australian. Thanks for the awesome entry, following.

To be put into a similar basket to BIG PUN is pretty humbling. Thanks! I'm trying to keep traditional hip-hop alive, so again thank you! I've been a tad influenced by O.G heads in the game. Again I guess it's cause I'm trying to keep that era alive. Followed back my G.

Well that would explain it then, 90's rap and hip hop was the best haha

Hands down my friend haha. Cheers for appreciating my entry.

I liked your article. Helps you like mine ♥ @siams

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60684.92
ETH 2911.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30