Poetry Dice Challenge # 7 Entry: Reality Crisis (Original Poem)

in #poetrydice8 years ago

I missed Poetry Dice Challenges # 5 and # 6, so I am back with a full vengeance with another wordsmith onslaught of literary weapons. Big thanks to @robyneggs for creating one of the coolest poetry challenges alongside with @prufarchy who has recently started back continuing his fun Poetry Slam Challenges as well, both of which I plan to support, participate and curate as best as I can. Steemit is all about community and I'm glad to be apart of such creative content crafters.

For the Poetry Dice Challenge, there are four out of ten Rules to keep in mind when writing your entry:

1 You must reference the image, in any form, shown on the face of the die
2 One image/die face must be referenced per line of poetry, so only 9 lines
3 Images can be referenced in any order, leave none out
4 The images can be interpreted loosely and will not count against you

Here is the image of the Dice that were rolled for this bi-weekly challenge

Below is my entry poem




Reality Crisis


So many people have lost their inner, natural kindness, building wars and destroying peace
Everyday on the news, it's depressing to see so many victims, 1, or 3, or 5 people die, deceased
Some people are scared to leave home, so they use padlocks to keep their pads locked
An ill-intentioned peer amid peers can have a dangerous pyramid scheme from a machete to a glock


Some wish upon a shooting star for the violence to stop, others are sick minded and wish of only shooting stars
Even the famous aren't safe. From the royal heir, row of celebrities, or lower class, a bowed arrow can mar
Never judge a book by its cover, but if they open up, and you uncover their secrets, they'll book it when the pressure thickens
We must direct the lost in all directions towards love, while staying sharp of the dangers like a Ninja's Shuriken

Sometimes life isn't broken down sweet like a sugarcane, it can throw a hard loop in the end just like a wooden cane


Thank you for reading this post in its entirety. Hope enjoyed reading this as much as I did writing it.

All Gifs used from Giphy.com

Next Post coming tomorrow

My very own wonderful gif logo provided to me by the generous and kindhearted @papa-pepper Thanks again very much!

Sort:  

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the first half of Dec 28. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $5.92 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Dec 28 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Thank you for the update

Nice work. I love all the poetry challenges on Steemit.

Thank you very much for checking out my poem. I'm glad you enjoyed the wordplay. I too love all the poetry challenges here, it is so mentally and creatively stimulating indeed!

That is a really thoughtful and powerful poem - loving the inspiration of the poetry competitions as well. I'm thinking of creating a new competition in the new year too.

Oh please do make a new competition, I enjoy participating in as many as I can to keep me sharp on my toes. Thank you very much for your comment and feedback, especially you being a talented poet yourself.

Thank you, it's not often I get called a talented poet :)

I'm thinking of a Random Rhymes Competition - with the first line being the first thought you think when you wake up, the rest would be up to you, as long as it rhymed, another idea being the first line being about the first thing you see in fridge etc. Do you think that might get some entrants?

You're welcome, I definitely think that's a great idea, I was wondering when someone was going to do a rhymes competition. That's right down my lane! I'll be one of your participants for sure. And we have a good amount of rhyme writers here on Steemit

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.13
TRX 0.12
JST 0.024
BTC 51460.37
ETH 2243.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.01