Poetry Dice Entry: Sandcastle

in #poetrydice6 years ago (edited)

sandcastle-766949_1920.jpg
Courtesy of Pixabay


Sandcastle

I jump out of bed,
frantically rushing to the balcony;
your cigarette fumes
waft into the neighbours' laundry.

You are lost
deep in your thoughts,
staring at the sombre sky
unperturbed
by the city fogs
that stole our stars.

I offer my hand:
follow me

run wild
to a foreign beach,
our feet splash
in the shallow seas,

the wind wheezes softly
in my ear,
my hair flows effervescently:
freedom blossoms
on my scalp.

My hands reach for your waist,
pull you in.
eyelashes flutter,
our noses gently
rub against one another
right before our tender lips touch.

The warmth of my breath
drifts onto your face,
then, I playfully
push you away:
chase me.

As your arms reach my body,
we fall on each other,
giggling:
you caught me.

This is it,
the spot where you and I
will build a sandcastle

and we will make it our home:
a place where
we bury our worries;
a place where
we realise our dreams.

Amidst the craziness of it all,
my heart finds its sanity.



challenge.jpg

PDC3K Week 24


This poem is an entry for the Poetry Dice Challenge (Week 24) . We had 9 images which needed to be used (image above), so for anyone who is interested, I will tell how I used each one of them.

Image 1: A tall building/skyscraper -- I used this to create my idea of our apartment, the balcony, the feeling of a city.

Image 2: A crescent moon -- I got the idea of the night, which I paired with the city fog that blocked most of the sky.

Image 3: Hand -- I used this as a gesture: offering my hand, asking you to follow

Image 4: Chaosphere/Compass -- Adapted this one into being a form of guide, you follow my direction.

Image 5: Footprint -- I immediately thought of sand, and used it to create the imagery of splashing in the water, at the beach.

Image 6: Tower -- At first I was thinking of something towards a lighthouse, but then I used it as a sandcastle.

Image 7: House -- A house and a home are distinct, so I made our castle a home.

Image 8: Question Mark -- A question mark signifies things we are unsure of. Thoughts like worries and burdens, which I buried deep under our sandcastle.

Image 9: Scale -- The theme of Balance, where the craziness of this idea is balanced out by the calmness I feel inside. It all takes place where our dreams and reality meet.

Sort:  

Niceeeeeee.....very nicee....please follow and upvote my blog...im new here

You are good at that.

Thank you once again :) [not going to comment on all, to preserve the bandwith] but I'm so honoured! I'll check your profile :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66911.69
ETH 3521.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.19