Poetry Dice Challenge Week 6 Entry

in #poetrydice7 years ago

My first poetry posting here on Steemit. I used to write fairly good poetry, but that was a long time ago. I tend to favor free-verse.

This is my submission for @robyneggs' Poetry Dice Challenge Week 6.

Here are the prompts:

I interpreted them as (ordered counter-clockwise in a swirl):
Examine
Counting
Light
Electricity
ID
Footprint
Arrow
Fountain
Minnow

I don't have a name for my poem, sorry.

Here in the City of Fountains
I count the days as they crawl by
Examining myself
Searching for my identity
I feel like a single minnow
In an ocean of confusion
I wish I could see as far as land
So I could rise from this water
Leave a trail of footprints in the sand
But in what direction would I go?
To where the people are?
Where words are loosed like arrows with no regard
Striking down travelers
Causing harm
This darkness keeps closing in
I need to shed this awful skin
Is there a light to guide me out?
Will I survive this?
Or will I drown?
Can you feel the electricity in the air?

Sort:  

Love it. Share more poetry :)

I've been considering digging out my poetry from when I was younger, but most of it is posted up on a fiction site I used to be a part of. I've been considering taking them down from that site and then just reposting them here.

I started out in Steemit posting poetry from my earlier years and it did quite well thankfully, else I'm may have not had patience or persistence to carry on Steemit. But people are nice here, I'd have stayed.

I actually have really mixed feelings about this poem. I'm not sure if I still "got it" like I did when I was a teenager.

Oh yeah, you got it! Please continue to share.

Thank you. I'm glad you feel that way. ^^;;

Glad to see you here!
Really good and visual poem!

(Cant wait for the apocalypse to begin..oh No!..... Will see u there!)

Why thank you!

We're holding a STEEM-POCALYPSE themed poetry challenge and contest, if you're interested in it. I have some information on my blog about it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65733.39
ETH 3506.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51