Poetry Dice Entry: Lemonade from an AbacussteemCreated with Sketch.

in #poetrydice7 years ago

This little ditty will be short and sweet.
For my first die creation couldn't find its feet.

I developed a story and started out strong.
But including the abacus made it too long.

Capture+_2017-08-11-18-01-42.png

There was a scandal and humor and nutty prose.
A shifty-eyed detective with a runny nose.

He was chasing a card that belonged to a dame,
who'd been struck by Cupid's arrow and abandoned her fame.

Capture+_2017-08-11-18-20-43.png

She was dating her Beau, when on a thunderous night,
beside a lucky fountain came a shocking fright.

Capture+_2017-08-11-18-05-28.png

The lightning flashed and revealed a face.
Ole Shifty had found her, by her credit's trace.

Capture+_2017-08-11-17-58-01.png

He shone his light in the handsome man's eyes.
And then pushed him in. A chilly surprise.

The damsel screamed! This wasn't her wish!
To have her Beau splash and dance with the fish.

"You cruel man, I just want you to die."
And so fluttered this tale up into the sky.

Capture+_2017-08-11-18-01-42.png

Abrupt is the ending, but please don't fuss.
Those die dealt me, harshly, an abacus.

Capture+_2017-08-11-18-09-37.png

DQmNx8GkdyrEt6N542tfXddgHvRHChtNq1hmEJNx2iv68Ui_1680x8400.png

This dice really gave me a knot! I went through various versions and 4 or 5 stop-and-gos, and even gave up until @mitchelljaworski gave me the pep talk I needed!!

It's still not the masterpiece theatre story that first developed in my brain, but "It'll do! The die delt me a lemon, and I made lemonade!"

Special thanks to @robyneggs that hosts this competition!!!
And thank you for the 2nd place Prize Purse last week!

Be sure and checkout this and her future Poetry competitions HERE.

Good luck to everyone!! Keep exploring that inner poet and challenging yourself to be that whale of a writer inside!
Peace!!
DQmPw63xyG6uEe22JdA63YLeGnpSa7Qs5z9bHfD39QMoMu9_1680x8400.png

All images other than the dice are taken from pixabay (open commons).

Sort:  

So much fun! Love how you weave images and a little snark into your poetry.

I share my MAP voting power with you, my friend 😊

So nice!! Thank you very much!!

Haha! I enjoyed your creation... it was great with all the pictures, quite whimsical :D Good luck in the #poetrydice competition! An abacus is an odd image indeed... some are arithmetical whizzes with 'em!

Thanks!! I appreciate it!
:-D

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by em3 from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

This was badass man!

Awesome!!! Glad you like it!!

I really like this entry @em3

Totally creative and fresh.

Thanks so much!! Glad you like it!!!
Peace!!

I do -- it made my top three. :)

How do I enter?

Click on the link where it says "here" above:
"Be sure and checkout this and her future Poetry competitions HERE."

I thought you did a great job. Your poem was great and the pictures added to the overall feel for the poem. I' m glad that you didn't give up. I sometimes hit a block when I write and then some how muddle through. Have a great day!

I appreciate that! This experience really taught me not to give up...comeback later and a new creation may spring forth!

Haha I love it ! Great entry , it definitely looks like a winner to me !! Best of luck to you !!✔✔✔✔💙Upped!!

Fingers crossed.
Thanks so much!!!
Peace!!

Your welcome !!🆒💙👍

That would be awesome! Should findout very soon!

That was awesome @em3 :-) Thanks for sticking it to the PDC3K in week6 like a boss~! :-)

Big Smile!!! Thank you!!
This is such a great mental exercise!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66699.04
ETH 3509.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71