Memoirs of a tree: Poetry Dice Challenge 3000

in #poetrydice7 years ago

Memoirs of a tree that grows
Around a withered will
Pierced by arrowed words
Whose fletching quivers still.

His abacus; the stars above
By which he counts the ways
That the lock and key held to his heart
Remains nestled in his days.

The meadows that lay at his feet
Plays out like yesterdays
With floral notes as antidotes
To where his mind might stray.

His shade is sought by man and beast
Whose visits deem mundane
For even those who linger long
None ever does remain.

He has seen great victories built
And has seen strong castles fall
And he takes this to heart as crutch and cane
To get past the memories in his halls.

Magic wands and monsters fierce
Chained to books by pages,
Holds no account nor reprimand
To the tree who witnessed the ages

Now dear tree I ask you this;
When the sun does end his flight,
Do you also count the shooting stars,
kept within your summer nights?

image credit

Sort:  

Refreshing lines from the Cool Breez. :)

AW FANKS!!
Did it tantalize your inner mage?

I prefer the term "wizard" but then again words are just labels. It def spoke to my more metaphysical side. :)

Inner or outer?

I agree mage is so dark ages

Inner, outer, it's all much the same in the grand scheme of things. Self implies other, above implies below, inside implies outside. It all just is.

Very cool, up-voted and re-steemed!!!

Thank you so much!

Real great written my friend I like it .

This is beautiful! :-)

Thank you so much!

This is very well written, @breezin, you are an amazing storyteller. I could see the place of old, I could feel the place, it just flowed, the words, the rhythm, and the tempo are masterful.

Thank you so much for your wonderful and constructive feedback!

This was the best line to me:


Magic wands and monsters fierce
Chained to books by pages
,

It brings a whole other concept to the writing, for me at least.
Well done @breezin

Thank you so much, I thought it would open up doorways that lead into corridors of thought, I love the fact that you picked up on it!
Thank you for the feedback!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.032
BTC 60972.25
ETH 2632.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57