Poetrydice 30 The Lady on the TrainsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #poetrydice7 years ago (edited)

DQmaQH9Vihv6p5FXEsvwZafEnmWfFJqCEVGExo16DXvfdDm_1680x8400.png

This weeks entry into @rensoul17 poetrydice competition

The competition is slightly more complex, using the nine dice, 4 themes and then a possible range of required quotations.
I have opted to use all the dice, all the themes and all the quotations in a poem of 237 words (so level 1 and level 2)

The Lady on the Train

No speech bubble gave an invisible clue to her thoughts!
Who was there to explain, as she found the journal on the train,
The inquisitive declaration of human nature,
As she opened it to read an opening sentence of intrigue,
‘This plan will be the best plan of them all, just you wait and see’!
What did it mean? What was she to believe?
When at the carriage door, a face made her heart race,
Ignite, heart thumping, pulse jumping, ignite, ignite, ignite,
Passions dice rolled, her heart an apple pieced by magnetic attraction,
She thought,
‘I am trying not to be afraid, but at the same time I am also trying to breathe’

Whilst the arrow of lust penetrated her being, so deep it thrust,
Ah sweet pain, such exquisite sweet pain, and the smell, his aroma,
He held her, he kissed her and then he missed her, gone, invisible,
Like a sprite to ignite, flaming tissue paper that curled like an amaretti wrapper,
She its foil, she curled, unfurled, and suddenly she vanished,
Her very being melded with his in a union of sweetest honey,
One minute she the queen bee, he her drone, then snap, praying mantis slap,
His castle cracked, he crumbled, his plan had stumbled,
Dropping him like so much old waste paper, not even saved for later,
She stepped out, turning the key in the key hole, not even looking back.

Sort:  

This piece caused my emotions to go on a rollercoaster ride. I had DNA Explosions in a good way it is a magnificent poem/prose. I imagine something like this could have happened on the Orient Express. I Loved It!!! Thank you for your entry.
@andrewcarnegie.

Coincidence alert! (Or algorithms somehow?) I just upvoted your sailing voyage on steemit, came over here to register for the first time and this is the first post I see.

I've never heard of the intruiging dice game but I love Yahtzee! (hope you're taking a set on the boat) and I liked your poem so have upvoted it - see you around :)

Yahtzee.jpg

Thank you - how could we sail without Yahtzee on board - ;o) I love the game although having just tried to find pictures of the set we have I feel old - ours is in a wooden box and it looks like the modern ones come in tins - not quite the same but a great game!

Thank you for the support - much appreciated ;o)

Gosh - that takes me back. So many happy memories...... thanks :)

Andrew, I hope you will not mind me suggesting, given the nature of your voyage, and the fact that you are fundraising, that you and your sailing partner and admin lady investigate the formation of your own specific trail on steemit.

If you do not know about this already, head over to steemconnect.com, which is where you could all start a trail. I have not done this myself so cannot comment on its efficacy or profitability but if you are gleaning genuine followers of your journey, this would be something "discrete" to offer them, for example, they could schedule upvotes for all your posts etc - a kind of "tithing".

Anyway, sorry to intrude - I'm no expert and you may already know this but have a look if you're interested. Best of luck with it :)

Hi thanks for that, I’ve never heard of it so will look into it next week, thank you so much for the advice, kind regards Andrew C

Congratulations @andrewcarnegie! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Thank you - feeling honoured :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63630.04
ETH 2656.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81