SteemitPoetryContest #12 - Freedom from Thinking

in #poetrycontest7 years ago (edited)

This is a last minute entry to @terrycraft's long standing Poetry Contest #12. I've spent all night scratching out and rewriting rhymes about one of my favorite topics to think on and philosophize about: Freedom.

I am very grateful to be free to write poetry and share it with all of you here on the Steem blockchain, a place that, for some reason, I feel very free!

Janice Joplin said, 'Freedom's just another word for nothing left to lose'.

So, let's have it then!

Carle.jpg
Photo by Carl E. Trapp

Essays and poems, treaties and tomes,
much has been said about freedom.
Surfing on Chrome safe in our homes
philosophy can seem quite dumb.

Talk about free, between you n' me,
this generation has it quite nice.
Constitutional screed, a strict guarantee;
but much freedom comes with a price.

Maybe we crave to be enslaved,
trading freedoms for freedom from;
we will behave just to be saved
from any danger we imagine might come.


And remember,

'Nothin' ain't worth nothin', but it's free.' (Janis Joplin)

'Freedom isn't free, it costs folks like you and me, and if we don't all chip in we'll never pay that bill.' (Trey Parker)


Love and Light to All!

Sort:  

True, freedom starts with you and me.

HA! now I have that Janice song in my head

Glad I could make it stick ;p

well, I loved your poem too silly man!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59527.28
ETH 2462.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49