SteemitPoetryContest #5- Three Degrees of Evolution

in #poetrycontest7 years ago (edited)

evolution-1295256__480.png
(img from pixabay)

From dust to man, we morphed,
Growing in every manner, involving evolving,
Like raindrops make up oceans, we formed
A world, with varying matter, revolving, dissolving.

I crawled and drawled, evolved
Then walked and talked, engulfed
In crying and sighing before dying and flying
like a bird. Shying and wrying , I grow, from scrying to lying.

From innocence to insolence,
From a ruddy rose to a sorrel wild flower,
To torment with you all diligence,
I'm that very 'monster', The Evolver.



DQmT6uuU75wSENoNhoR8oZxQ3wvoNGwcSZC8unx1VcvWdjz.png

I wrote this poem for @terrycraft's poetry contest tagged "Evolution". When I saw we were supposed to write about evolution, I first thought of writing from the standpoint of creation and adding science jagons about adaptation, competition and succession. Next, I explored the idea of focusing on just man and his evolution. Then, I felt why not personalise it?. In the end, I've written a poem spanning across all the three points of view.

The first line talks about creation using biblical allusion then the remaining lines talk about the general evolution of man and everything around him. I used the second and third stanzas to then talk about me and how I evolve to this crazy monster but the word "monster" (notice it is quotation) doesn't mean a beast. It means an adult who is already corrupted and has lost his childlike innocence.

As for figurative expressions, I didn't use too many except allusion, simile, metaphors, rhyme and assonance (let me know if you spot any other one). I used a quite sophisticated diction but not too ineffable. The rhyme scheme is abab aabb cdcd. The poem has 12 lines (3 quatrains). I hope you loved it.

with love,
@ajremy (the teen with steam for steem



Thanks for visiting my blog. Did you love this post? Then what are you waiting for?

CoverMaker-1508340064899.jpg

Sort:  

Amazing choice of words. And I love how you took the concept of evolution and thought of the deeper meaning. Great content.

Let's connect.

Awwn. I really feel you're flattering me though and of course I'd love to connect with you.

You could hit me up on steemchat @ajremy... then I could give you my whatsapp number

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 62261.29
ETH 2614.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56